8:12 am
Thu October 17, 2013

KPCW Earns Eight Radio Awards For Programming And Promotion

KPCW intern Corrie Gustman helps Fun Friday host John Burdick display all the awards won at the 2013 Utah Broadcasters Association UBEE Award event on Wednesday.

KPCW Radio earned peer recognition at the 2013 Utah Broadcasters Award Ceremony Wednesday, taking home eight 2013 UBEE awards, including Five golds.

All entries submitted to the awards were judged by broadcasting colleagues living outside of Utah. KPCW was ranked against other Utah radio stations in non-metro markets of similar size.

KPCW earned the following awards this year:

In the Best Promotional Campaign category, Jan Williams, Mark Towner Williams and John Burdick took home a gold UBEE award for their “Pledge Drive – The Musical” spots.

KPCW Summer Pledge Drive - The Musical promotion

In the Best Feature Story or Program category, co-hosts Larry Warren and Doug Wells, and feature host John Wells, won a silver award for the Mountain Money’s show.

KPCW Mountain Money Program

Also in the Best Feature Story or Program category, co-hosts Lynn Ware Peek and Tim Henney won gold for The Mountain Life program, and Chris Cherniak and Nell Larson earned a silver award for This Green Earth.

KPCW The Mountain Life program
KPCW This Green Earth program

KPCW’s Fun Friday show won the silver UBEE for “Best Radio Personality or Team” for hosts Jan Williams and John Burdick. 

KPCW Fun Friday! Show

The show’s promotional spots also won Williams and Burdick three gold UBEEs for “Best 30-second Station Promotional Announcement”.

Fun Friday Halloween promotion

Fun Friday Thanksgiving promotion
Fun Friday Winter promo

Although he was not able to attend the award ceremony himself, KPCW’s General Manager Larry Warren stated that it was no surprise to him that the staff had brought home another armful of gold and silver awards.

Off air, Warren said, “I’m really proud of my staff, both past and present, and I think this is deserved recognition for the high level of work they all do. Congratulations to all of them.”