Kraig Powell http://kpcw.org en Powell Talks About Alcoholic Beverages For Special Events http://kpcw.org/post/powell-talks-about-alcoholic-beverages-special-events <p>The Utah Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control has come under fire in the media recently as it has scrutinized and impeded permitting for alcoholic beverages for special events. It may be because the agency is left to interpret what the legislature hands down. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 19:43:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 15240 at http://kpcw.org Powell Talks About Alcoholic Beverages For Special Events Summit County Preliminary Rounds Are Up And Going http://kpcw.org/post/summit-county-preliminary-rounds-are-and-going <p>The state Democratic and Republican conventions this weekend had some significant results for Summit County voters.&nbsp;<br />Park City Democrat Donna McAleer won the nomination for the second time, to oppose Rep. Rob Bishop for Utah's first Congressional District Seat. At the GOP gathering, three legislators who represent Summit County easily defeated their challenges. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 23:05:34 +0000 Rick Brough 12775 at http://kpcw.org Summit County Preliminary Rounds Are Up And Going Student's Initiative To Garner Visit From Governor http://kpcw.org/post/students-initiative-garner-visit-governor <p>Utah Governor Gary Herbert is scheduled to visit a group of Heber City high school students today, who urged lawmakers this year to pass a bill allowing 16- and 17-year-olds to serve as election poll workers. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 23:20:34 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 11257 at http://kpcw.org Wright To Run Against Powell For House District Chair http://kpcw.org/post/wright-run-against-powell-house-district-chair <p>Summit County Democratic Chairman Glenn Wright says he is planning to run for House District 54, challenging incumbent Kraig Powell. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 00:05:28 +0000 Rick Brough 10750 at http://kpcw.org Wright To Run Against Powell For House District Chair Kraig Powell On Billing http://kpcw.org/post/kraig-powell-billing <p>While state lawmakers this session won't be able to come close to getting to all the bills that were filed, some headway is being made. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Sat, 08 Mar 2014 00:56:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10747 at http://kpcw.org Kraig Powell On Billing Rep. Powell Calls For Balanced Budget Convention http://kpcw.org/post/rep-powell-calls-balanced-budget-convention <p>Rep. Kraig&nbsp;Powell is sponsoring a resolution to call for a national constitutional convention to consider a balanced&nbsp;budget amendment. &nbsp;Rick Brough has more.</p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 22:14:47 +0000 Rick Brough 10894 at http://kpcw.org Powell Reviews Utah Education Proposals http://kpcw.org/post/powell-reviews-utah-education-proposals <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Education is always a big topic for state legislators, and House Rep. Kraig Powell reviewed some of the major proposals. &nbsp;Rick Brough has more.</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 20:39:59 +0000 Rick Brough 10889 at http://kpcw.org Powell Reviews Utah Education Proposals Powell Talks Golf Courses In Districts http://kpcw.org/post/powell-talks-golf-courses-districts <p>Rep. Kraig Powell is not supportive of a legislative proposal that could privatize two State golf courses within his district, in Wasatch County. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 23:32:00 +0000 Rick Brough 10326 at http://kpcw.org Powell Talks Golf Courses In Districts Liquor Regulation Comes Up Again In Legislative Session http://kpcw.org/post/liquor-regulation-comes-again-legislative-session <p>Down at the current Utah legislative session, Representative Kraig Powell is involved in one of the perennial issues - liquor regulation.</p><p>He's also got a proposal on what he calls one of the biggest issues in a generation: changes in Utah's caucus system. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 23:27:28 +0000 Rick Brough 10233 at http://kpcw.org Liquor Regulation Comes Up Again In Legislative Session Powell Discusses Environmental Issues http://kpcw.org/post/powell-discusses-environmental-issues <p>The review and discussion on a proposed Tesoro&nbsp;pipeline, from the Uintah&nbsp;Basin to Salt Lake, is just starting. Rep. Kraig Powell said it's going well so far. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 23:14:00 +0000 Rick Brough 10322 at http://kpcw.org Powell Discusses Environmental Issues