Womens Ski Jumping http://kpcw.org en Women Ski Jumpers Make History http://kpcw.org/post/women-ski-jumpers-make-history <p>History was made in the 2014 Sochi Olympics when the world's women ski jumpers got to compete on the Olympic stage for the first time.&nbsp; As KPCW's Leslie Thatcher reports, for those who helped make it happen, it was a dream come true.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 18:13:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10249 at http://kpcw.org Women Ski Jumpers Make History Park City Resident Breaths Sigh of Relief after Women's Ski Jumping Debut http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-resident-breaths-sigh-relief-after-womens-ski-jumping-debut <p>As 30 women made their Olympic debut in last Tuesday's ski jumping competition, one Park City resident who helped make that happen breathed a sigh of relief. And now she has her sights set on opening the large hill to women too. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher reports.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 21:37:51 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10033 at http://kpcw.org Park City Resident Breaths Sigh of Relief after Women's Ski Jumping Debut First-Ever Winter Olympics Women's Ski Jumping Competition Held Last Tuesday http://kpcw.org/post/first-ever-winter-olympics-womens-ski-jumping-competition-held-last-tuesday <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">While last Tuesday was a bitterly disappointing day for the U.S. in several categories, the silver lining was the first-ever competition in a Winter Olympics for women's ski jumping. Rick Brough has more.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 20:51:34 +0000 Rick Brough 10028 at http://kpcw.org First-Ever Winter Olympics Women's Ski Jumping Competition Held Last Tuesday Women Ski Jumpers Soared into History Books http://kpcw.org/post/women-ski-jumpers-soared-history-books <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Women ski jumpers from around the world soared into the history books last Tuesday in Sochi&nbsp;and Park City's own Olympic jumpers were smiling along with the rest of the 30 jumpers. Lynn Ware Peek has more.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 20:45:39 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 10026 at http://kpcw.org Women Ski Jumpers Soared into History Books Hendrickson Returns To Ski Jumping In Time http://kpcw.org/post/hendrickson-returns-ski-jumping-time <p>Reigning World Champion Sarah Hendrickson has successfully returned to ski jump training just in the nick of time. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 00:24:13 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 8955 at http://kpcw.org Hendrickson Returns To Ski Jumping In Time Jerome First To Make Olympic Team http://kpcw.org/post/jerome-first-make-olympic-team <p>U.S. Women's ski jumper Jessica Jerome made history Sunday as the first to be named to the first-ever U.S. Olympic Women's ski jumping team, getting one step closer to realizing a long soughter-after dream. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 18:07:27 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 8368 at http://kpcw.org Jerome First To Make Olympic Team Hendrickson Might Still Make Sochi http://kpcw.org/post/hendrickson-might-still-make-sochi <p>World Champion Ski Jumper Sarah Hendrickson, still recovering from a knee injury, will be cheering on her teammates at Sunday's ski jumping Olympic Trials, as she still holds out hope for Sochi. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 21:33:03 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 8096 at http://kpcw.org US Women's Ski Jumping Team Featured In New York Times Magazine http://kpcw.org/post/us-womens-ski-jumping-team-featured-new-york-times-magazine <p>As they prepare for the upcoming World Cup season and the Sochi&nbsp;Olympics, a cover story in the New York Times Magazine couldn't have come at a better tie for the five women on the US Ski Jumping Team. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 22:40:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 6982 at http://kpcw.org US Women's Ski Jumping Team Featured In New York Times Magazine USSA Atheletes Think Of Sochi This September http://kpcw.org/post/ussa-atheletes-think-sochi-september <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">One of Team USA's gold medal hopefuls for the </span>Sochi<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Olympics is back on snow and the other recovering from knee surgery last week. </span>KPCW's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Leslie Thatcher reports.&nbsp;</span></p> Tue, 03 Sep 2013 20:46:31 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 3974 at http://kpcw.org USSA Atheletes Think Of Sochi This September Womens Ski Jumpers To Hold Benefit Party http://kpcw.org/post/womens-ski-jumpers-hold-benefit-party <p>Originally aired July 17, 2013.</p><p>They’re headed for the 2014 Sochi Olympics. So this year’s annual benefit is especially important for U.S. women ski jumpers. The event is set this Thursday for the first-ever Olympic team of female jumpers - who are, in addition, all Park City-bred. Rick Brough has more.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 18:34:00 +0000 Rick Brough 1654 at http://kpcw.org Womens Ski Jumpers To Hold Benefit Party