Uintas http://kpcw.org en Boy Scout And Leader Located In Their Car In Uintas http://kpcw.org/post/boy-scout-and-leader-located-their-car-uintas <p>A sick boy scout and his scout leader spent the night in their car after getting lost Wednesday night, but were found early this morning. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher reports.</p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 19:14:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 14995 at http://kpcw.org Second Bear Invades Scout Camp And Gets Shot http://kpcw.org/post/second-bear-invades-scout-camp-and-gets-shot <p>For the second time in less than a month, a black bear has been shot after intruding&nbsp;into a Scout Camp in the High Uintas. Officials with the Division of Wildlife Resources shot a two-year-old male early Tuesday morning after their efforts failed to drive it away from camp. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 20:20:09 +0000 Rick Brough 2763 at http://kpcw.org Second Bear Invades Scout Camp And Gets Shot Lost Hikers Found Over Weekend http://kpcw.org/post/lost-hikers-found-over-weekend <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><em>Originally aired on July 23, 2013.</em></p><p>Search and Rescue personnel from Summit and&nbsp;Duchesne Counties were busy over the weekend with a rash of missing-hiker cases-primarily two Boy Scouts who went missing Friday and spent the night in the High Uintas. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Rick Brough 1926 at http://kpcw.org Lost Hikers Found Over Weekend Black Bear Tagging Helps Keep Population Healthy http://kpcw.org/post/black-bear-tagging-helps-keep-population-healthy <p>Originally aired July&nbsp;19, 2013.</p><p>The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources has been tagging black bears in the High Uintas of Summit County and other areas of the state to keep track of their movements and population. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 18:38:00 +0000 Rick Brough 1653 at http://kpcw.org Black Bear Tagging Helps Keep Population Healthy Two Recent Bear Deaths; Two Different Reasons http://kpcw.org/post/two-recent-bear-deaths-two-different-reasons <p>Originally aired July 19, 2013.</p><p>In just the past couple of weeks, black bears have died in two separate mishaps in the high Uintas of Summit County. Last week, as we’ve reported, a bear that invaded a Scout Camp, attracted by food left out in the open, was shot by a Scout leader.</p><p>In another case, in late June, a bear died after reacting badly to a tranquilizer shot, during a DWR tagging operation. Rich Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 18:38:00 +0000 Rick Brough 1655 at http://kpcw.org Two Recent Bear Deaths; Two Different Reasons Bear Shot in Scout Camp http://kpcw.org/post/bear-shot-scout-camp <p>Originally aired July 17, 2013.</p><p>A young black bear was shot Wednesday night after wandering into a Boy Scout Camp in the High Uintas. The bear was attracted into the camp by food left out in the open, after Division of Wildlife Resources officers had warned the Scouts about maintaining a clean campsite. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 18:34:00 +0000 Rick Brough 1651 at http://kpcw.org Bear Shot in Scout Camp