Dogs http://kpcw.org en Cops Shoot Dog in Salt Lake City Alerting Park City Police More Careful http://kpcw.org/post/cops-shoot-dog-salt-lake-city-alerting-park-city-police-more-careful <p>There have been headlines in Salt Lake, and protests, after a Salt Lake City police officer shot a dog he claimed was threatening, while the officer was conducting a yard to yard search for a missing child.<br />Park City Police Chief Wade Carpenter and Sheriff Dave Edmunds said the case is certainly cause for reflection for them and their officers. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Rick Brough 15480 at http://kpcw.org Watch Out Dogs: Here Come the Leashes and Licenses http://kpcw.org/post/watch-out-dogs-here-come-leashes-and-licenses <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The Summit County Council is looking at upgrading its Animal Control ordinance, to take additional steps to make sure that dogs are properly licensed, on leash and are well behaved.<br />Council members talked Wednesday about more enforcement and more education on the leash laws. But they also discussed about possibly adding more areas, including trails, where dogs can be off leash. Rick Brough has more.</p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 19:23:59 +0000 Person: Rick Brough 14942 at http://kpcw.org Watch Out Dogs: Here Come the Leashes and Licenses Visitor Bitten By Another Visitor's Dog http://kpcw.org/post/visitor-bitten-another-visitors-dog <p>A visitor to Park City's Main Street was bitten on the face by a dog earlier this week. The owner, who left the dog tied up outside a restaurant, was cited and fined. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 21:36:29 +0000 Rick Brough 12396 at http://kpcw.org Visitor Bitten By Another Visitor's Dog County Council Considers Leash Laws http://kpcw.org/post/county-council-considers-leash-laws <p><em>Originally aired on April 11, 2013.</em></p><p>Summit County Council Member Roger Armstrong is suggesting that the county should look again at the topic of dogs and the county leash law. In a brief discussion April 10th, Council members noted that the law is routinely ignored by dog owners, but they don't have the resources in Animal Control to vigorously enforce it. Rick Brough has more.</p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 03:43:00 +0000 Rick Brough 2198 at http://kpcw.org Avalanche Dogs to the Rescue! http://kpcw.org/post/avalanche-dogs-rescue <p><em>Originally aired March 29, 2013.</em></p><p>An important safety element of any ski resort is the Ski Patrol, there to help guests. &nbsp;What &nbsp;some may not know that the patrol gets a lot of help too - &nbsp;from man’s best friend. &nbsp;Lynn Ware Peek has more.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 02:11:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 2182 at http://kpcw.org Pets Are Part Of City Culture http://kpcw.org/post/pets-are-part-city-culture <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The conversation about where dogs belong ebbs and flows around Park City&#39;s trails and open spaces - but there&#39;s one place the conversation doesn&#39;t lead to prohibiting dogs. It&#39;s the home of Park City Municipal - the </span>Marsac<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Building. Lynn Ware Peak has more.</span></p><p></p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 18:30:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 1776 at http://kpcw.org Pets Are Part Of City Culture Yappy Hour to Benefit Friends of Animals Utah http://kpcw.org/post/yappy-hour-benefit-friends-animals-utah <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">There&rsquo;s a lot of people in the Park City area who love dogs &ndash; and also, many who love wine. Now, the two have been combined for a fundraiser called </span><a href="https://www.facebook.com/events/360919510673299/?fref=ts" style="line-height: 1.5;">&ldquo;Yappy Hour.&rdquo;</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Rick </span>Brough<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has more.</span></p><p></p> Sat, 09 Feb 2013 00:15:00 +0000 Rick Brough 1512 at http://kpcw.org Yappy Hour to Benefit Friends of Animals Utah