Utah Legislature http://kpcw.org en Hone Ready To Challenge Brown In November http://kpcw.org/post/hone-ready-challenge-brown-november <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">While Summit County's GOP plan to meet later last week, Coalville Republican Mel Brown, who represents House District 53, has two challengers within the party. One of those is Morgan City resident Blaine Hone, who says that Brown has done a good job, but leans too much toward the mainstream, as with education. Rick Brough has more.</span></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 02:11:09 +0000 Rick Brough 11630 at http://kpcw.org Hone Ready To Challenge Brown In November Horrocks Challenges Van Tassell From Within GOP http://kpcw.org/post/horrocks-challenges-van-tassell-within-gop <p>Susan Horrocks, a Republican, is challenging incumbent GOP leader Kevin Van Tassell for re-election to Senate District 26. Horrock said she will be able to represent a five county, rural district that stretches from Vernal to Park City. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 02:03:37 +0000 Rick Brough 11637 at http://kpcw.org Horrocks Challenges Van Tassell From Within GOP Worthen Becomes Brown's Sole Dem Opponent http://kpcw.org/post/worthen-becomes-browns-sole-dem-opponent <p>Incumbent GOP Representative Mel Brown only has one Democratic challenger in his re-election bid for House District 53. That is Morgan County resident Ray Worthen. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Sat, 29 Mar 2014 02:16:01 +0000 Rick Brough 11638 at http://kpcw.org Worthen Becomes Brown's Sole Dem Opponent Baldwin Happy With Bill To Clean Filthy Air http://kpcw.org/post/baldwin-happy-bill-clean-filthy-air <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Although a lot was made early on in this year's legislative session about cleaning up Utah's dirty air, many of the proposals to do that didn't make it through the process. Still, as </span>KPCW's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Leslie Thatcher reports, a handful of them did and will help make a difference.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 22:24:04 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 11335 at http://kpcw.org Baldwin Happy With Bill To Clean Filthy Air Good News For Tourism: Money http://kpcw.org/post/good-news-tourism-money <p>There's good news for Utah's tourism industry out of this year's legislative session - which committed $15 million to promoting the state. In addition, those funds could continue to grow each year. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:38:51 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 11263 at http://kpcw.org Good News For Tourism: Money Legislative Session Was 'Ho-Hum' With Few Message Bills http://kpcw.org/post/legislative-session-was-ho-hum-few-message-bills <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Like last year, there weren't a lot of fireworks in this year's Legislative session and a lot of work was left undone for future years. </span>KPCW's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Leslie Thatcher has more.</span></p><p></p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 23:22:56 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 11060 at http://kpcw.org Legislative Session Was 'Ho-Hum' With Few Message Bills Carson Reports On Last Day On The Hill http://kpcw.org/post/carson-reports-last-day-hill <p>County Council member Kim Carson has been visiting the StateLegislature on a regular basis. &nbsp;She was down at Capitol&nbsp;Hill on its last day. &nbsp;Rick Brough has more. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 21:16:40 +0000 Rick Brough 11027 at http://kpcw.org Carson Reports On Last Day On The Hill Utah Lawmakers To Work For Balanced Budget http://kpcw.org/post/utah-lawmakers-work-balanced-budget <p>In the next few days, a number of backdoor budget negotiations will take place as state lawmakers work to adopt a balanced budget by Thursday. &nbsp;KPCW"s Leslie Thatcher reports.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 22:19:17 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10876 at http://kpcw.org Bill Is Passed For Breathalyzers http://kpcw.org/post/bill-passed-breathalyzers <p>With just days left in the Utah Legislative session, a bill that is still alive would create standards for placing breathalyzers in bars. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 00:19:13 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 10754 at http://kpcw.org Bill Is Passed For Breathalyzers Kraig Powell On Billing http://kpcw.org/post/kraig-powell-billing <p>While state lawmakers this session won't be able to come close to getting to all the bills that were filed, some headway is being made. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Sat, 08 Mar 2014 00:56:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10747 at http://kpcw.org Kraig Powell On Billing