LGBT http://kpcw.org en Utah To Appeal Gay Marriage Ruling To High Court http://kpcw.org/post/utah-appeal-gay-marriage-ruling-high-court <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - Utah is going straight to the U.S. Supreme Court to challenge a federal appeals court ruling that found states must allow gay couples to marry.</p><p>State Attorney General Sean Reyes' office said in a statement Wednesday it will file an appeal to the high court sometime in the next couple of weeks, rather than taking its case to the entire 10th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:57:00 +0000 KPCW 15819 at http://kpcw.org Utah To Appeal Gay Marriage Ruling To High Court 10th Circuit Overthrows Utah's Gay Marriage Ban http://kpcw.org/post/10th-circuit-overthrows-utahs-gay-marriage-ban <p>A federal appeals court - for the first time - says a state cannot prevent people from getting married. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 15261 at http://kpcw.org 10th Circuit Overthrows Utah's Gay Marriage Ban Utah Recognizes Gay Marriages Already Performed http://kpcw.org/post/utah-recognizes-gay-marriages-already-performed <p>It's a day of celebration for some 1,300 couples in Utah, as a federal judge orders the state of Utah to recognize gay marriages. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 20 May 2014 22:48:02 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 13749 at http://kpcw.org Utah Recognizes Gay Marriages Already Performed Supreme Court Legalizes Same Sex Adoption http://kpcw.org/post/supreme-court-legalizes-same-sex-adoption <p>The Utah Supreme Court has halted same-sex adoption cases. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 23:53:29 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 13701 at http://kpcw.org Supreme Court Legalizes Same Sex Adoption Gay Marriage Will Be Allowed In Idaho Tomorrow http://kpcw.org/post/gay-marriage-will-be-allowed-idaho-tomorrow <p>Utah's northern &nbsp;neighbor Idaho is the most recent state to overturn the ban on same-sex marriage. Gay marriages will &nbsp;be allowed in the state on Friday. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 15 May 2014 22:13:55 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 13543 at http://kpcw.org Gay Marriage Will Be Allowed In Idaho Tomorrow LGBT Group Will Not Appear In Days Of '47 Parade http://kpcw.org/post/lgbt-group-will-not-appear-days-47-parade <p>LGBT group won't appear in Days of '47 Parade this summer. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 07 May 2014 19:42:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 13257 at http://kpcw.org LGBT Group Will Not Appear In Days Of '47 Parade PCHS Gay Straight Alliance In Top 5 Clubs Across Country http://kpcw.org/post/pchs-gay-straight-alliance-top-5-clubs-across-country <p>Park City High School's Gay Straight Alliance has been named as one of the Top 5 GSAs in the country for its efforts to spread the issue of equality for all. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 20:25:12 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 11767 at http://kpcw.org PCHS Gay Straight Alliance In Top 5 Clubs Across Country Mormons Building Bridges Tackles Talking About LGBT Issues http://kpcw.org/post/mormons-building-bridges-tackles-talking-about-lgbt-issues <p>The group Mormons Building Bridges this month takes on the issue of how LGBT issues ought to be discussed in public schools. KPCW's&nbsp;Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 23:04:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10320 at http://kpcw.org Mormons Building Bridges Tackles Talking About LGBT Issues Kraig Powell On Utah Funding http://kpcw.org/post/kraig-powell-utah-funding <p>Some of the hot-button issues at the Utah legislature include education funding, gas taxes, and discrimination against the LGBT community. Rep. Kraig Powell discussed those with KPCW on Friday. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Rick Brough 10091 at http://kpcw.org Kraig Powell On Utah Funding Local Mormon Group To Hold Discussion On Equality http://kpcw.org/post/local-mormon-group-hold-discussion-equality <p>A community conversation about whether the state legislature ought to approve Senate Bill 100, which would outlaw discrimination against the LGBT community across the state will be held Tuesday night. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 01:49:17 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 8958 at http://kpcw.org Local Mormon Group To Hold Discussion On Equality