Arts & Culture http://kpcw.org en Friday Film Review: Sex Tape http://kpcw.org/post/friday-film-review-sex-tape <p>The movie "Sex Tape" may have a steamy title, but does the film live up - or down - to that? Rick Brough has the answer, with the Friday Film Review.</p><p></p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 19:07:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16479 at http://kpcw.org Friday Film Review: Sex Tape July Book Review - The Emerald Mile http://kpcw.org/post/july-book-review-emerald-mile <p>Kevin Fedarko's book <em>The Emerald Mile</em> is a rollicking white water rollercoaster tale of the epic Grand Canyon Flood of 1983 and the engineers and river runners who tried to tame it. Matt Lindon has this month's KPCW&nbsp;Book Review.</p><p></p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 17:56:33 +0000 Matt Lindon 16035 at http://kpcw.org July Book Review - The Emerald Mile Friday Film Review: Maleficent http://kpcw.org/post/friday-film-review-maleficent <p>Have you ever wondered why the evil Fairy Godmother in the story of Sleeping Beauty was so pissed off? See <em>Maleficent </em>and all will be revealed. Barbara Bretz has this week's Friday Film Review.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 19:25:00 +0000 Barbara Bretz 15810 at http://kpcw.org Friday Film Review: Maleficent June Book Review - Detroit City is the Place to Be http://kpcw.org/post/june-book-review-detroit-city-place-be <p>Detroit’s bankruptcy and blight are familiar headlines across America and maybe the world. But what it means to live, work and survive in the modern-day Motor City are bigger, more important stories. Sandra Svoboda, who lives there, has this month’s review of author Mark Binelli’s book, “Detroit City is the Place to Be,” an account of what is depressing, entertaining, foretelling and hopeful in the urban landscape of Detroit.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:12:29 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 15850 at http://kpcw.org June Book Review - Detroit City is the Place to Be Egyptian Theatre Company Presents "SOB - Save Our Banksy" Fundraiser http://kpcw.org/post/egyptian-theatre-company-presents-sob-save-our-banksy-fundraiser <p>The Egyptain Theatre Company on Tuesday announced a fundraising campaign called "SOB - Save Our Banksy" which aims not only to preserve a piece of street art by a world-reowned graffiti artist, but also to help the Egyptian's youth theater. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:31:07 +0000 Rick Brough 15758 at http://kpcw.org Egyptian Theatre Company Presents "SOB - Save Our Banksy" Fundraiser Wallace Talks About Gardening In The Summer http://kpcw.org/post/wallace-talks-about-gardening-summer <p>Ecker Hill Middle School students are finding out how despite summer vacation the garden growing at their school is still growing. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:40:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 15760 at http://kpcw.org Wallace Talks About Gardening In The Summer Egyptian Theater Presents "A Chorus Line" http://kpcw.org/post/egyptian-theater-presents-chorus-line <p>The Egyptian Theater is bringing back theater for the month of July, presenting the Broadway hit A Chorus Line. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 15646 at http://kpcw.org Egyptian Theater Presents "A Chorus Line" McBride Comes To Park City This Week To Perform At Deer Valley http://kpcw.org/post/mcbride-comes-park-city-week-perform-deer-valley <p>Named "Female vocalist of the Year" four times by the Country Music Association, Martina McBride will be coming to Park City for the first time this Thursday, at the Deer Valley ampitheatre. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 21:40:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 15495 at http://kpcw.org McBride Comes To Park City This Week To Perform At Deer Valley Ooooooh! Klahoma Comes To Wasatch County http://kpcw.org/post/ooooooh-klahoma-comes-wasatch-county <p>In Wasatch County, the corn isn't usually as high as an elephant's eye. But it will be the next couple of weeks, as the musical "Oklahoma!" is presented by the High Valley Arts Outdoor Theater of Midway. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 00:51:17 +0000 Rick Brough 15461 at http://kpcw.org Ooooooh! Klahoma Comes To Wasatch County More Art On Main Street, And Dog Park, And Passway http://kpcw.org/post/more-art-main-street-and-dog-park-and-passway <p>The Park City Council last week met with the municipal Arts Advisory Committee to look at projects in the Park City area to flavor the town. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:54:27 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 15393 at http://kpcw.org More Art On Main Street, And Dog Park, And Passway