Summit County News http://kpcw.org en Open Houses Planned During National County Government Month http://kpcw.org/post/open-houses-planned-during-national-county-government-month <p>The Summit County Council has a couple of weeks off this month. But ironically, that comes during the national celebration of County Government Month. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 17:00:00 +0000 Rick Brough 11742 at http://kpcw.org Open Houses Planned During National County Government Month Water Issues On County Council's Mind http://kpcw.org/post/water-issues-county-councils-mind <p></p><p>The Summer County Council Wednesday, looking at the future of septic tanks in Snyderville Basin, discussed the issue with two other boards concerned with health and water quality. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 23:18:39 +0000 Rick Brough 11256 at http://kpcw.org Earth Quaked In South Summit Area Monday http://kpcw.org/post/earth-quaked-south-summit-area-monday <p>A minor earthquake was recorded Friday morning in the &nbsp;South &nbsp;Summit area. &nbsp;But there was no damage to nearby communities, and no reports that the quake was felt.</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 00:47:57 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 11084 at http://kpcw.org North Summit Fire Certified For Emergency Care http://kpcw.org/post/north-summit-fire-certified-emergency-care <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The North Summit Fire District is now better able to provide emergency care, thanks to a certification it has obtained from the state.</span></p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:31:55 +0000 Rick Brough 10877 at http://kpcw.org Robinson Previews Planning Commission Agenda http://kpcw.org/post/robinson-previews-planning-commission-agenda <p>The Snyderville&nbsp;Planning Commission's fairly small agenda Tuesday night has a couple of items from Canyons Resort. Primarily, they're looking again at the Resort's proposed new ski maintenance building. Rick Brough&nbsp;has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 23:08:00 +0000 Rick Brough 10321 at http://kpcw.org Robinson Previews Planning Commission Agenda Tanger Expansion Get OK From County Council http://kpcw.org/post/tanger-expansion-get-ok-county-council <p>The Summit County Council considered&nbsp;the application for new recreation projects, as well as approved the Tanger Outlet mall expansion. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 21:40:59 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 9070 at http://kpcw.org Summit County Expands Citizen News Efforts with Park Rag http://kpcw.org/post/summit-county-expands-citizen-news-efforts-park-rag <p>After more than a year of videotaping and posting the meetings of the Summit County Council online, Josh Mann is ready to expand his citizen news efforts with the Park Rag. KPCW's&nbsp;Leslie Thatcher has more.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><strong>The website:&nbsp;<a href="http://parkrag.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;">ParkRag.com</a></strong></p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 21:32:57 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 8565 at http://kpcw.org Summit County Expands Citizen News Efforts with Park Rag Natural Gas Station Brings County Forward http://kpcw.org/post/natural-gas-station-brings-county-forward <p>The Summit County Council and other officials held a ribbon cutting ceremony Tuesday for a new natural gas station at Silver Creek Junction. County Manager Bob Jasper said earlier that it's a step forward, even with the controversy over the extraction methods for natural gas. Rick Brough&nbsp;has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 01:05:00 +0000 Rick Brough 8473 at http://kpcw.org Barnes Joins County Development Team http://kpcw.org/post/barnes-joins-county-development-team <p>Summit County's Development Director Pat Putt says that taking in a new administrator was a very important hire for him. And he's happy that Peter Barnes, a former private architect/designer in Park City, is in that position. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 17:21:11 +0000 Rick Brough 8363 at http://kpcw.org Fugutive And His 'Captive' Jailed http://kpcw.org/post/fugutive-and-his-captive-jailed <p>Officers from the&nbsp;Summit&nbsp;Wasatch&nbsp;SWAT team surrounded a home in&nbsp;Oakley&nbsp;Thursday&nbsp;night, after getting reports that a&nbsp;fugitive&nbsp;suspect was holding a&nbsp;woman against her will. In the end, officers captures the male fugitive - and also charge the woman, who was allegedly held captive. Rick Brough&nbsp;has more.</p><p></p> Sat, 28 Dec 2013 00:08:58 +0000 Rick Brough 8163 at http://kpcw.org Fugutive And His 'Captive' Jailed