Karen Grigsby Bates http://kpcw.org en The Late Walter Dean Myers Wrote In The Language Of Teens http://kpcw.org/post/late-walter-dean-myers-wrote-language-teens <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtlkXnf3-vY</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 15528 at http://kpcw.org The Late Walter Dean Myers Wrote In The Language Of Teens Condiment Detente: Sriracha Plant To Stay In California City http://kpcw.org/post/condiment-detente-sriracha-plant-stay-california-city The Sriracha-slurping public no longer has to worry about hoarding bottles and bottles of the spicy stuff: There will be hot sauce tomorrow and for the foreseeable future. Sriracha will continue to be made in the state-of-the-art plant David Tran built in Irwindale, Calif. Thu, 29 May 2014 22:47:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 14118 at http://kpcw.org Condiment Detente: Sriracha Plant To Stay In California City Nostalgia For What's Been Lost Since 'Brown V. Board' http://kpcw.org/post/nostalgia-whats-been-lost-brown-v-board <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xY4aOHTjGTM</p> Sat, 17 May 2014 09:39:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 13593 at http://kpcw.org Nostalgia For What's Been Lost Since 'Brown V. Board' Sriracha-Maker Says Factory Will Remain In California http://kpcw.org/post/sriracha-maker-says-factory-will-remain-california Sriracha hot sauce-maker Huy Fong Foods has been tussling with the City Council of Irwindale, Calif., near Los Angeles for months now over whether the factory's spicy smells harm its neighbors. There have been legal action and suggested fixes, but also pleas from other cities for the company to consider moving there.<p>David Tran, the CEO of Huy Fong, says he escaped from Vietnam almost 35 years ago to be free of the communist government there and its many intrusions.<p>"Today, I feel almost the same. Mon, 12 May 2014 07:46:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 13348 at http://kpcw.org Sriracha-Maker Says Factory Will Remain In California After 6 Decades As A Staple, 'Jet' Magazine Ends Print Run http://kpcw.org/post/after-six-decades-staple-jet-mag-ends-its-print-run Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. An era in magazine history is closing. Chicago-based Johnson Publishing Co., or JPC, says "Jet" magazine is going digital. Some 700,000 subscribers will no longer see a print edition. It's with the exception of one special print issue a year. Wed, 07 May 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 13202 at http://kpcw.org Why Would The NAACP Honor Donald Sterling Anyway? http://kpcw.org/post/naacps-less-sterling-intentions <em>Update: The NAACP issued a <a href="http://www.naacp.org/press/entry/naacp-statement-resignation-of-los-angeles-president-jenkins">press release</a> on Thursday advising that Leon Jenkins has resigned his post as president of the Los Angeles chapter. The national organization said it is "developing guidelines for its branches to help them in their award selection process."</em><p>"The Los Angeles NAACP intention to honor Mr. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 12813 at http://kpcw.org Why Would The NAACP Honor Donald Sterling Anyway? Who Runs The World? 'Time' Magazine Says Beyoncé http://kpcw.org/post/who-runs-world-time-magazine-says-beyonc <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2014/04/23/306235499/why-lupita-nyongos-people-cover-is-so-significant">The euphoria over Lupita Nyong'o's appearance</a> on <em>People</em>'s "50 Most Beautiful" list was still swirling on the Interwebs when word came, a mere four days later, that <em>Time</em><em></em>'s "100 Most Influential" issue was on newsstands. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 19:07:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 12743 at http://kpcw.org Who Runs The World? 'Time' Magazine Says Beyoncé Why A Proper Lady Found Herself Behind Bars http://kpcw.org/post/why-proper-lady-found-herself-behind-bars <em>This story is part of NPR's 50th anniversary coverage of 1964. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:05:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 11504 at http://kpcw.org Why A Proper Lady Found Herself Behind Bars 'Hispanic' Or 'Latino'? Polls Say It Doesn't Matter — Usually http://kpcw.org/post/hispanic-or-latino-polls-say-it-doesnt-matter-usually Carlos Mencia is well-known for his standup humor, which is slyly good-natured and often focuses on race and ethnicity. The 46 year-old Mencia has had a successful series on The Comedy Channel <em>(Mind of Mencia)</em> and draws huge crowds when he tours the country. When he was starting out in the business, he spent a lot of time on college campuses. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 19:26:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 8929 at http://kpcw.org 'Hispanic' Or 'Latino'? Polls Say It Doesn't Matter — Usually The First Time I Heard The Name 'Mandela' http://kpcw.org/post/first-time-i-heard-name-mandela <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgcTvoWjZJU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dLhaN26paaU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFW7845XO3g</p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 22:46:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 7305 at http://kpcw.org The First Time I Heard The Name 'Mandela'