Governor Gary Herbert http://kpcw.org en Herbert Signs Eight Bills To Improve Utah Air Quality http://kpcw.org/post/herbert-signs-eight-bills-improve-utah-air-quality <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - Gov. Gary Herbert has signed 8 bills designed to clear Utah's murky wintertime skies.</p><p>Herbert took the action during a ceremony Friday attended by clear air advocates including some lawmakers who published for the legislation.</p><p>The new laws will facilitate electrical vehicle charging stations, assist homeowners whose only source of heat is wood burning, provide tax credits for energy efficient vehicles and encourage use of biodiesel fuel.</p> Sun, 27 Apr 2014 23:32:00 +0000 KPCW 12779 at http://kpcw.org Hendrickson Is Chosen For 2014 State Of Sports Award http://kpcw.org/post/hendrickson-chosen-2014-state-sports-award <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">For the seco</span>nd<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> year in a row, Park City ski jumper Sarah Hendrickson was presented with a State of Sport Award from Utah Governor Gary Herbert. </span>KPCW's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Leslie Thatcher has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 21:45:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 12759 at http://kpcw.org Hendrickson Is Chosen For 2014 State Of Sports Award Wood Smoke Targeted In Governor's Air Clean-up Effort http://kpcw.org/post/wood-smoke-targeted-governors-air-clean-effort <p>Utah Governor Gary Hebert has signed legislation geared at cutting air pollution by reducing wood burning in the state. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 18:05:03 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 11750 at http://kpcw.org Student's Initiative To Garner Visit From Governor http://kpcw.org/post/students-initiative-garner-visit-governor <p>Utah Governor Gary Herbert is scheduled to visit a group of Heber City high school students today, who urged lawmakers this year to pass a bill allowing 16- and 17-year-olds to serve as election poll workers. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 23:20:34 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 11257 at http://kpcw.org STEM Initiative Launches $2,000,000 http://kpcw.org/post/stem-initiative-launches-2000000 <p>Heeding Governor Herbert's challenge to support science, technology, engineering and math or STEM education, businesses in Utah stepped up and launched a more than $2,000,000 media campaign to increase interest in STEM education. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 00:34:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 9567 at http://kpcw.org STEM Initiative Launches $2,000,000 Gov: "Nothing" Not An Option For Utah On Medicaid http://kpcw.org/post/gov-nothing-not-option-utah-medicaid <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - </span>Gov<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. Gary Herbert says Utah will pursue some form of Medicaid expansion but has put off announcing specifics on his decision.</span></p><p>Herbert announced at his monthly televised news conference on Thursday that "doing nothing" to expand the program was off the table.</p><p>Under the federal health law, states have the option of expanding eligibility for Medicaid, the state-federal program for low-income people.</p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 01:00:00 +0000 KPCW 9183 at http://kpcw.org Gov: "Nothing" Not An Option For Utah On Medicaid Governor Herbert Honors Robert Redford http://kpcw.org/post/governor-herbert-honors-robert-redford <p>Film actor, director and founder of the Sundance Institute Robert Redford was honored by the state of Utah Saturday, with November 9th being proclaimed as Robert Redford Day in Utah.&nbsp; KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 21:31:40 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 6429 at http://kpcw.org Governor Herbert Honors Robert Redford Governor Stresses The Importance Of Water Conservation http://kpcw.org/post/governor-stresses-importance-water-conservation <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Governor Gary Herbert says water conservation in Utah is among the highest of priorities as he lays out a plan for statewide conservation. On a local level, Park City Municipal will participate by examining some of its own conservation practices. Lynn Ware Peek has more.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 23:05:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 6485 at http://kpcw.org Governor Stresses The Importance Of Water Conservation Governor Urges President To Re-Open Utah's National Parks And Monuments http://kpcw.org/post/governor-urges-president-re-open-utahs-national-parks-and-monuments <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Saying it&#39;s a $1,000,000 loss to the state, Utah Governor Gary Herbert Tuesday formally requested President Obama to re-open the state&#39;s five national parks, several national monuments, historic sites and recreation areas. KPCW&#39;s Leslie Thatcher has more.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 23:02:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 5187 at http://kpcw.org Governor Urges President To Re-Open Utah's National Parks And Monuments 1033 Foundation Honored at Governor's Gala http://kpcw.org/post/1033-foundation-honored-governors-gala <p>Utah Governor&nbsp;Gary Herbert selected the Utah 1033 Foundation to both honor and make a donation to, last Friday at his annual gala at the Salt Palace Convention Center. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p> Tue, 24 Sep 2013 00:40:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 4572 at http://kpcw.org 1033 Foundation Honored at Governor's Gala