Local News http://kpcw.org en Fire Returns To Rockport Area http://kpcw.org/post/fire-returns-rockport-area <p></p><p><em>Information compiled from on-air reports.</em></p><p></p><p>UPDATE 10:30 PM</p><p>The Rockport Estates evacuation order has been lifted. Residents can now safely return to their homes.</p><div>&nbsp;As of 8:00 p.m. tonight, the Rockport Estates fire has burned over 120 acres and is 45 percent contained.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><p>UPDATE 6:30 PM</p><p>The structure where the fire is believed to have started has been updated as a yurt, not a single family house.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 23:43:56 +0000 Monika Guendner 16410 at http://kpcw.org Fire Returns To Rockport Area Tesoro Sues County http://kpcw.org/post/tesoro-sues-county <p>The Tesoro Pipeline Company has filed a federal lawsuit against Summit County, seeking to nullify the ordinances the county passed in June, attempting to regulate pipeline construction.</p><p>The lawsuit filed this week claims the county's new laws intend to impede or prevent Tesoro's&nbsp;proposed pipeline, and it says the ordinances are preempted by federal regulations. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 01:00:37 +0000 Rick Brough 16330 at http://kpcw.org Tesoro Sues County Henney Talks About Council's Decision On Vinyl Siding http://kpcw.org/post/henney-talks-about-councils-decision-vinyl-siding <p>The consensus of Park City Council Thursday night was, to say the least, not supportive on vinyl siding, says Council Member Tim Henney.<br />Henney&nbsp;told KPCW Friday that no housing material is problem-free, but vinyl is, on the spectrum, one of the worst choices. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:44:19 +0000 Rick Brough 16211 at http://kpcw.org Henney Talks About Council's Decision On Vinyl Siding Soldier Hollow Hires New Director http://kpcw.org/post/soldier-hollow-hires-new-director <p>The Soldier Hollow Legacy Foundation has a new director, Richard Hodges, who left his position on the Foundation's Board to take the new job. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:38:57 +0000 Rick Brough 16210 at http://kpcw.org Soldier Hollow Hires New Director Park City Balloon Festival Set For September http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-balloon-festival-set-september <p>After a hiatus of 20 years, the Park City balloon festival known as Autumn Aloft is returning with plans set for September 19th to the 21st. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 17:54:12 +0000 Rick Brough 16203 at http://kpcw.org Park City Balloon Festival Set For September Group Asks Forest Service To Halt Snowbird Project http://kpcw.org/post/group-asks-forest-service-halt-snowbird-project <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - An environmental group is asking the U.S. Forest Service to delay Snowbird Ski Resort's construction of a restaurant atop the 11,000-foot Hidden Peak.</p><p>The group Save Our Canyons says Snowbird has made significant changes to the plan since the Forest Service approved the project in 1999 and a new study is needed to review the possible environmental impacts.</p><p>The Forest Service says it's considering the request.</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 12:01:00 +0000 Salt Lake Tribune 16213 at http://kpcw.org Real Estate Prices Going Up Around Park City http://kpcw.org/post/real-estate-prices-going-around-park-city <p>While the number of real estate sales slowed down in the second quarter, prices continue to rise. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 19:35:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 16209 at http://kpcw.org Real Estate Prices Going Up Around Park City Carson Talks About Laws And Changes In The County's Future http://kpcw.org/post/carson-talks-about-laws-and-changes-countys-future <p>As we reported, the Summit County Council this week has a wide-ranging discussion about their Animal Control ordinances and regulations. And talking later to Council member Kim Carson, we asked her what changes the county will make this summer - and what will wait till budget time, when the Council will consider spending more money and hiring additional staff for the county dogcatcher. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:42:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16202 at http://kpcw.org Carson Talks About Laws And Changes In The County's Future Council Agrees With An Affordable Housing Plan In Park City http://kpcw.org/post/council-agrees-affordable-housing-plan-park-city <p>The Park City Council, meeting last night approved an Affordable Housing Plan for the Park City Heights development near Quinn's Junction.<br />Council member Tim Henney said it's the first step in a process that they will review and ajust yearly.<br />Right now, he said the residential units are market-driven, within a so-called "bandwidth" of affordable pricing. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:39:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16201 at http://kpcw.org Council Denies Vinyl Siding In The City http://kpcw.org/post/council-denies-vinyl-siding-city <p>The debate over vinyl siding, heard by the Park City Planning Commission in June, came before the Park City Council last night. In the end, the Council turned thumbs down on vinyl, and went counter to the recommendation of their Planning Commissioners. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:34:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16200 at http://kpcw.org Council Denies Vinyl Siding In The City