David Welna http://kpcw.org en The Challenge Of Keeping Tabs On The NSA's Secretive Work http://kpcw.org/post/challenge-keeping-tabs-nsas-secretive-work Here's a question with no easy answer: How do you hold the nation's spy agencies accountable — when they control the secrets?<p>Former National Security Agency contractor Edward Snowden apparently thought the answer was to blow the lid off some of the NSA's highly classified programs. He took documents and shared them with journalists.<p>But what about Congress? It's supposed to oversee the NSA — and other spy agencies. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 David Welna 16288 at http://kpcw.org The Challenge Of Keeping Tabs On The NSA's Secretive Work Before Snowden: The Whistleblowers Who Tried To Lift The Veil http://kpcw.org/post/snowden-whistleblowers-who-tried-lift-veil Bill Binney worked at the National Security Agency nearly three decades as one of its leading crypto-mathematicians. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 David Welna 16239 at http://kpcw.org Before Snowden: The Whistleblowers Who Tried To Lift The Veil Bipartisan Board OKs NSA Surveillance Program, With Suggestions http://kpcw.org/post/bipartisan-board-oks-nsa-surveillance-program-suggestions Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. A controversial NSA surveillance program that sweeps up volumes of communications - emails, photos, videos and more is constitutional. That's the unanimous conclusion today of the bipartisan privacy and civil liberties oversight board. The so-called 702 surveillance program, named for a section in the law, is designed to target foreigners. But civil liberties advocates say it captures the communications of Americans too. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 20:06:00 +0000 David Welna 15486 at http://kpcw.org Congress Keeping Close Watch On Obama's Plans In Iraq http://kpcw.org/post/congress-keeping-close-watch-obamas-plans-iraq After bowing out of Iraq when the last American forces left two and a half years ago, the U.S. military is back.<p>Up to 300 military advisers started arriving there this weekend. President Obama said he sent them to help Iraq's military confront the Sunni militants who've overrun much of northern Iraq. He said Thursday that U.S. Sun, 22 Jun 2014 21:45:00 +0000 David Welna 15056 at http://kpcw.org Congress Keeping Close Watch On Obama's Plans In Iraq What, Exactly, Are U.S. Interests In Iraq's Turmoil? http://kpcw.org/post/what-exactly-are-us-interests-iraqs-turmoil As the U.S. steers warships closer to Iraq and beefs up its embassy's security in Baghdad with nearly 300 troops, a nagging question has resurfaced.<p>What compelling interests does Washington still have in a nation where all U.S. forces were pulled out 2 1/2 years ago?<p>Three days after Sunni militants calling themselves the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria seized Mosul, Iraq's second-largest city, President Obama paused on the White House lawn and issued a warning.<p>"Terrorists," he said, were being allowed to overrun part of Iraq's territory. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 22:43:00 +0000 David Welna 14861 at http://kpcw.org What, Exactly, Are U.S. Interests In Iraq's Turmoil? Defending Bergdahl Deal, Hagel Faces Critics On Both Sides Of Aisle http://kpcw.org/post/defending-bergdahl-deal-hagel-faces-critics-both-sides-aisle Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel testified before the House Armed Services Committee on Wednesday, defending the prisoner swap that freed Army Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 21:16:00 +0000 David Welna 14612 at http://kpcw.org Feinstein Wants CIA To Speed 'Torture Report' Release http://kpcw.org/post/feinstein-wants-cia-speed-torture-report-release It's been well over a month since the Senate Intelligence Committee voted 11 to 3 to declassify and make public the executive summary and findings of its "Torture Report."<p>But it's not likely that will actually happen anytime soon.<p>The reason? Wed, 14 May 2014 22:53:00 +0000 David Welna 13496 at http://kpcw.org Feinstein Wants CIA To Speed 'Torture Report' Release Faced With Pentagon Budget Cuts, Congress Finesses The Numbers http://kpcw.org/post/faced-pentagon-budget-cuts-congress-finesses-numbers The Pentagon's congressionally-imposed budget cuts ran into a powerful opponent this week: Congress itself. The House Armed Services Committee rejected $5 billion worth of proposed cuts in order to preserve items cherished by individual lawmakers. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Fri, 09 May 2014 20:31:00 +0000 David Welna 13292 at http://kpcw.org Sanctions Put Pentagon's Business Deals With Russia Up For Debate http://kpcw.org/post/sanctions-put-pentagons-business-deals-russia-debate Washington has imposed a number of economic sanctions on Russia in retaliation for that country's push into Ukraine.<p>Getting European allies to do the same has not always been easy, since many of those nations trade with Russia and fear getting hurt themselves.<p>But the Europeans are not the only ones balking: The Pentagon also buys Russian military hardware.<p>When U.S. military and intelligence satellites are shot into space, all the rocket engines that propel them are made by a state-owned enterprise in Russia. Sat, 03 May 2014 15:31:00 +0000 David Welna 13025 at http://kpcw.org Sanctions Put Pentagon's Business Deals With Russia Up For Debate In Sex Assault Report, Pentagon Sees Progress — And A Long Way To Go http://kpcw.org/post/sex-assault-report-pentagon-sees-progress-and-long-way-go The Pentagon issued a study on sexual assaults in the military, reports of which have jumped 50 percent in the past year. Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel says this is a positive sign that more victims trust the system. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 01 May 2014 20:13:00 +0000 David Welna 12913 at http://kpcw.org