Rick Brough http://kpcw.org en Tesoro Sues County http://kpcw.org/post/tesoro-sues-county <p>The Tesoro Pipeline Company has filed a federal lawsuit against Summit County, seeking to nullify the ordinances the county passed in June, attempting to regulate pipeline construction.</p><p>The lawsuit filed this week claims the county's new laws intend to impede or prevent Tesoro's&nbsp;proposed pipeline, and it says the ordinances are preempted by federal regulations. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 01:00:37 +0000 Rick Brough 16330 at http://kpcw.org Tesoro Sues County Henney Talks About Council's Decision On Vinyl Siding http://kpcw.org/post/henney-talks-about-councils-decision-vinyl-siding <p>The consensus of Park City Council Thursday night was, to say the least, not supportive on vinyl siding, says Council Member Tim Henney.<br />Henney&nbsp;told KPCW Friday that no housing material is problem-free, but vinyl is, on the spectrum, one of the worst choices. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:44:19 +0000 Rick Brough 16211 at http://kpcw.org Henney Talks About Council's Decision On Vinyl Siding Soldier Hollow Hires New Director http://kpcw.org/post/soldier-hollow-hires-new-director <p>The Soldier Hollow Legacy Foundation has a new director, Richard Hodges, who left his position on the Foundation's Board to take the new job. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:38:57 +0000 Rick Brough 16210 at http://kpcw.org Soldier Hollow Hires New Director Park City Balloon Festival Set For September http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-balloon-festival-set-september <p>After a hiatus of 20 years, the Park City balloon festival known as Autumn Aloft is returning with plans set for September 19th to the 21st. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 17:54:12 +0000 Rick Brough 16203 at http://kpcw.org Park City Balloon Festival Set For September Carson Talks About Laws And Changes In The County's Future http://kpcw.org/post/carson-talks-about-laws-and-changes-countys-future <p>As we reported, the Summit County Council this week has a wide-ranging discussion about their Animal Control ordinances and regulations. And talking later to Council member Kim Carson, we asked her what changes the county will make this summer - and what will wait till budget time, when the Council will consider spending more money and hiring additional staff for the county dogcatcher. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:42:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16202 at http://kpcw.org Carson Talks About Laws And Changes In The County's Future Council Agrees With An Affordable Housing Plan In Park City http://kpcw.org/post/council-agrees-affordable-housing-plan-park-city <p>The Park City Council, meeting last night approved an Affordable Housing Plan for the Park City Heights development near Quinn's Junction.<br />Council member Tim Henney said it's the first step in a process that they will review and ajust yearly.<br />Right now, he said the residential units are market-driven, within a so-called "bandwidth" of affordable pricing. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:39:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16201 at http://kpcw.org Council Denies Vinyl Siding In The City http://kpcw.org/post/council-denies-vinyl-siding-city <p>The debate over vinyl siding, heard by the Park City Planning Commission in June, came before the Park City Council last night. In the end, the Council turned thumbs down on vinyl, and went counter to the recommendation of their Planning Commissioners. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:34:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16200 at http://kpcw.org Council Denies Vinyl Siding In The City Recreation Board Votes For Bond http://kpcw.org/post/recreation-board-votes-bond <p>The Snyderville Basin Recreation District took the next important step toward proposing a $25,000,000 bond on this November's ballot. The Recreation Board voted to recommend the bond at their meeting Wednesday. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:56:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16204 at http://kpcw.org Kamas Mother Dies In Head-on Collision http://kpcw.org/post/kamas-mother-dies-head-collision <p>A Kamas woman was killed Tuesday morning in a head-on collision of two vehicles on Highway 248. Her daughter and the driver of the other vehicle were critically injured. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 18:09:53 +0000 Rick Brough 16038 at http://kpcw.org County Council's Agenda Includes Animal Control Discussion http://kpcw.org/post/county-councils-agenda-includes-animal-control-discussion <p>The Summit County Council meets on several topics in their regular session Wednesday. One major item will be the county's Animal Control Regulations. Rick Brough has more.</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 19:45:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16053 at http://kpcw.org County Council's Agenda Includes Animal Control Discussion