Book Reviews http://kpcw.org en July Book Review - The Emerald Mile http://kpcw.org/post/july-book-review-emerald-mile <p>Kevin Fedarko's book <em>The Emerald Mile</em> is a rollicking white water rollercoaster tale of the epic Grand Canyon Flood of 1983 and the engineers and river runners who tried to tame it. Matt Lindon has this month's KPCW&nbsp;Book Review.</p><p></p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 17:56:33 +0000 Matt Lindon 16035 at http://kpcw.org July Book Review - The Emerald Mile June Book Review - Detroit City is the Place to Be http://kpcw.org/post/june-book-review-detroit-city-place-be <p>Detroit’s bankruptcy and blight are familiar headlines across America and maybe the world. But what it means to live, work and survive in the modern-day Motor City are bigger, more important stories. Sandra Svoboda, who lives there, has this month’s review of author Mark Binelli’s book, “Detroit City is the Place to Be,” an account of what is depressing, entertaining, foretelling and hopeful in the urban landscape of Detroit.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:12:29 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 15850 at http://kpcw.org June Book Review - Detroit City is the Place to Be May Book Review - The Son By Phillip Meyers http://kpcw.org/post/may-book-review-son-phillip-meyers <p>The Son by Phillip Meyers is the story of the McCulloughs - a 100 year history of the American West, told by four generations in one family. Julie Crittenden has this month's KPCW Book Review.</p> Wed, 14 May 2014 22:31:38 +0000 Julie Crittenden 13483 at http://kpcw.org May Book Review - The Son By Phillip Meyers April Book Review - The Burgess Boys http://kpcw.org/post/april-book-review-burgess-boys <p>Pulitzer Prize–winning author Elizabeth Strout delivers again in The Burgess Boys.&nbsp; Trine Nielsen has this month's KPCW Book Review.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 15:23:24 +0000 Trine Nielsen 12798 at http://kpcw.org April Book Review - The Burgess Boys March Book Review: Me Before You http://kpcw.org/post/march-book-review-me-you-0 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">What do you do when making the person you love happy... also means breaking your own heart? <em>Me Before You</em> by </span>Jojo<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Moyes<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is this month's Book Review.</span></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 16:26:30 +0000 Barb Bretz 10756 at http://kpcw.org March Book Review: Me Before You February Book Review: The Returned http://kpcw.org/post/february-book-review-returned <p>In this month's book review, a bizarre global phenomenon poses challenging questions for the living. &nbsp;Bobbi Pyron has February's review.</p><p></p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 18:49:48 +0000 Bobbi Pyron 9796 at http://kpcw.org February Book Review: The Returned January Book Review: Sweet Thunder http://kpcw.org/post/january-book-review-sweet-thunder <p>Sometimes funny, a bit sad but very entertaining is how Amy Mills feels about Ivan Doig's latest novel, <em>Sweet Thunder</em>.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 13:34:40 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10255 at http://kpcw.org January Book Review: Sweet Thunder December Book Review: Porcelain On Steel http://kpcw.org/post/december-book-review-porcelain-steel <p>If you're thinking about shopping local for Christmas, then think about this book by a local author.&nbsp; Barbara Svoboda has this month's review of Donna McAleer's&nbsp;<em>Porcelain on Steel</em>.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 20:26:06 +0000 Barbara Svoboda 7577 at http://kpcw.org December Book Review: Porcelain On Steel November Book Review: The Panther http://kpcw.org/post/november-book-review-panther-0 <p><em>The Panther</em> by Nelson DeMille debuted at #1 on <em>New York Times</em> hardcover fiction bestseller list. Barbara Bretz has this month's KPCW Book Review.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 20:39:36 +0000 Barbara Bretz 6926 at http://kpcw.org November Book Review: The Panther October Book Review: Flight Behavior http://kpcw.org/post/october-book-review-flight-behavior <p>Small Town Tennessee is the setting for a butterfly migration gone awry. What does it mean and what can one person do? Amy Mills has this review of Barbara Kingsolver's&nbsp;recent novel, <em>Flight Behavior</em>.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Amy Mills 5398 at http://kpcw.org October Book Review: Flight Behavior