Rockport Estates fire http://kpcw.org en Rockport Reservoir Saves The Day http://kpcw.org/post/rockport-reservoir-saves-day <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If there's a wildfire, the best possible scenario would be to have a lake full of water a mile away - with free dipping privileges. As KPCW's Leslie Thatcher reports - that's been the case with the Rockport Fire.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 20:50:31 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 3161 at http://kpcw.org Rockport Reservoir Saves The Day Park City Elks Club Awards First Responders http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-elks-club-awards-first-responders <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Park City Elks Club handed out awards to local First Responders at its annual barbecue Saturday afternoon. The plaques were handed out even while firefighters and police were keeping an eye on the embers of the Rockport 5 fire. Rick </span>Brough<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has more.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 20:38:41 +0000 Rick Brough 3157 at http://kpcw.org Park City Elks Club Awards First Responders Fire Aftermath http://kpcw.org/post/fire-aftermath <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Rockport Fire was reported at 90% containment Monday morning. But even last week, at the height of the blaze, Summit County officials said they needed to think about the aftermath. Rick </span>Brough<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 20:27:43 +0000 Rick Brough 3158 at http://kpcw.org Fire Aftermath Still Not Safe For Residents to Return Home in Rockport http://kpcw.org/post/still-not-safe-residents-return-home-rockport <p>Leaking propane tanks in the Rockport Ranches and Rockport Estates subdivisions may mean that even though an evacuation order is lifted sometime soon, it could be a while before residents are actually allowed to live in their homes. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher reports.</p><p></p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 21:36:28 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 3096 at http://kpcw.org Still Not Safe For Residents to Return Home in Rockport Prelude To A Fire Started Days Before http://kpcw.org/post/prelude-fire-started-days <p>The blazed that started Tuesday in the Rockport Estates area is the worst fire that Summit County has seen in years. But Local Emergency personnel might understandably think that the opening act started this weekend.</p><p>In the prior days, the County's Fire Warden and firefighters have been busy responding to a rash of small fires in eastern Summit County - mostly lightning caused. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 00:34:38 +0000 Rick Brough 3063 at http://kpcw.org Prelude To A Fire Started Days Before Evacuation Holdout Asks For Escort To Safety http://kpcw.org/post/evacuation-holdout-asks-escort-safety <p>A Bridge Hollow resident who has refused to evacuate since the Rockport fire started Tuesday apparently had had enough and asked for a police escort down the hill today. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 00:07:27 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 3062 at http://kpcw.org Evacuation Holdout Asks For Escort To Safety Some Homes Get Their Own Private Firefighters http://kpcw.org/post/some-homes-get-their-own-private-firefighters <p>An insurance company has hired a private firefighting crew to stand by at the top of the Promontory Ranch Club to protect the high-end homes. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 19:13:27 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 3026 at http://kpcw.org Some Homes Get Their Own Private Firefighters 14 Homes, 2,000 Acres, 1 Arrest As Day Three Starts http://kpcw.org/post/14-homes-2000-acres-1-arrest-day-three-starts <p>Today begins day three of the Rockport Fire, and crews worked again throughout the night to defend homes and control the perimeter of the fire.</p><p></p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 17:51:49 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 3021 at http://kpcw.org 14 Homes, 2,000 Acres, 1 Arrest As Day Three Starts Frustrated Resident Arrested After Running Barricade Second Time http://kpcw.org/post/frustrated-resident-arrested-after-running-barricade-second-time <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A resident in the area ravaged by the Rockport 5 fire was arrested Wednesday for running through the evacuation barricade set up by Summit County Sheriff deputies.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Due to the fire near </span>Wanship<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, portions of Promontory Ranch, Rockport Estates and Bridge Hollow have been evacuated and closed.</span></p><p>A press release from the Summit County Sheriff’s Office says that 74-year-old Robert Wiener was arrested after his second attempt to run the barricade.</p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 17:41:41 +0000 Rick Brough 3020 at http://kpcw.org Frustrated Resident Arrested After Running Barricade Second Time Homes And Vehicles Lost in Rockport Fire, But No Lives http://kpcw.org/post/homes-and-vehicles-lost-rockport-fire-no-lives <p>The Rockport Fire forced hundreds of people out of their homes Tuesday afternoon as it ravaged through the dry brush. As KPCW's Leslie Thatcher reports, several structures and vehicles were lost, but no injuries have been reported.</p><p></p> Wed, 14 Aug 2013 19:08:27 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 2985 at http://kpcw.org Homes And Vehicles Lost in Rockport Fire, But No Lives