education http://kpcw.org en Kraig Powell On Utah Funding http://kpcw.org/post/kraig-powell-utah-funding <p>Some of the hot-button issues at the Utah legislature include education funding, gas taxes, and discrimination against the LGBT community. Rep. Kraig Powell discussed those with KPCW on Friday. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Rick Brough 10091 at http://kpcw.org Kraig Powell On Utah Funding Park City School Board Grappling with Deficits in Budget http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-school-board-grappling-deficits-budget <p>The Park City School board is again grappling with deficits in its budget. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 20:50:06 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 8523 at http://kpcw.org Park City School Board Grappling with Deficits in Budget Blended Learning Being Considered by Park City School District http://kpcw.org/post/blended-learning-being-considered-park-city-school-district <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Blended Learning is a new wave of learning that the Park City School District is considering. It incorporates technology but differs from standard on-line learning in that a teacher facilitates it within the walls of a classroom. Lynn Ware Peek has more.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 20:25:26 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 8518 at http://kpcw.org Blended Learning Being Considered by Park City School District Park City School District Associate Superintendent Has Retired http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-school-district-associate-superintendent-has-retired <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Park City School District associate superintendent of teaching, learning and technology, Lori Gardner, has retired and is being replaced by an interim director while a national search for a permanent curriculum director ensues. Lynn Ware Peek has more.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 22:48:52 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 8443 at http://kpcw.org Park City School District Associate Superintendent Has Retired Utah Education Association Discusses Student Perfomance http://kpcw.org/post/utah-education-association-discusses-student-perfomance <p>The Utah Education Association says student performance in math and reading has shown some progress, but not nearly enough. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 23:29:14 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 6753 at http://kpcw.org Utah Education Association Discusses Student Perfomance Superintendent Ember Conley Hosts Education Forum http://kpcw.org/post/superintendent-ember-conley-hosts-education-forum <p>A community forum on education hosted by Park City schools Superintendent&nbsp;Ember Conley reviewed what the community thinks the school district is doing well, and what needs improvement. Lynn Ware Peek has more.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 00:13:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 6213 at http://kpcw.org Tax Shift Proposal Would Aid Education In Utah http://kpcw.org/post/tax-shift-proposal-would-aid-education-utah <p>Next month, the Utah Education Interim Committee will consider&nbsp;a bill that would raise 400 million dollars and provide ongoing funding for Utah schools by eliminating&nbsp;a tax exemption that favors large families. KPCW&#39;s Leslie Thatcher has more.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 17:31:58 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 4625 at http://kpcw.org Winter Sports School Has New Home http://kpcw.org/post/winter-sports-school-has-new-home <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Park City&#39;s &nbsp;Winter Sports School is celebrating the Snyderville Planning Commission&#39;s approval of the location for the school&#39;s new home. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 17:23:23 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 4628 at http://kpcw.org Winter Sports School Has New Home School Board Stands Behind Superintendent As Husband Is Arrested http://kpcw.org/post/school-board-stands-behind-superintendent-husband-arrested <p><em>Originally aired on July 11, 2013.</em></p><p>The Park City school board says it will stand by its selection as the new superintendent, Dr. Ember Conley, as news comes from Arizona that Conley’s husband was arrested.&nbsp;&nbsp; Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 18:22:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 1351 at http://kpcw.org School Board Stands Behind Superintendent As Husband Is Arrested