Republican http://kpcw.org en Republican And Democrat Caucus Changes http://kpcw.org/post/republican-and-democrat-caucus-changes <p>To all appearances, last weekend's Republican and Democratic state conventions could be the last round for Utah's caucus and convention system as we know it. A bill in the recent legislature altered the process for candidates to get on a primary ballot.</p><p>But Summit County's Democratic and GOP party chairs think the caucus system might still be basically unchanged. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 23:02:00 +0000 Rick Brough 12934 at http://kpcw.org Republican And Democrat Caucus Changes Republicans Have No Primary Contest For Recorder http://kpcw.org/post/republicans-have-no-primary-contest-recorder <p>Summit County Republicans will not have a primary contest after all for the position of County Recorder, with one of the candidates dropping out. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Rick Brough 12318 at http://kpcw.org Republicans Have No Primary Contest For Recorder Brown Discusses Challenges For The Legislature Ahead http://kpcw.org/post/brown-discusses-challenges-legislature-ahead <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Long-time Utah legislator Mel Brown spoke last week to the County Republican convention, discussing challenges for the state legislature and a long-term challenge for the state. Rick </span>Brough<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has more.</span></p><p></p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 23:35:48 +0000 Rick Brough 11884 at http://kpcw.org Brown Discusses Challenges For The Legislature Ahead Delegates To Decide Republican Candidates For Two County Offices http://kpcw.org/post/delegates-decide-republican-candidates-two-county-offices <p>Summit County's Republican Party will hold its convention Thursday night, at South Summit High School. The delegates will vote to choose a nominee in two contests within the party, for county offices. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 17:53:28 +0000 Rick Brough 11747 at http://kpcw.org Delegates To Decide Republican Candidates For Two County Offices Van Tassell Points To Tourism Work On Legislative Resume http://kpcw.org/post/van-tassell-points-tourism-work-legislative-resume <p>Utah State Senator Kevin Van Tassell says he will be working hard to be elected to his third term, representing District 26 - even though he has two challengers this year. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 02:00:00 +0000 Rick Brough 11618 at http://kpcw.org Van Tassell Points To Tourism Work On Legislative Resume Parties Are To Hold Neighborhood Caucus Meetings http://kpcw.org/post/parties-are-hold-neighborhood-caucus-meetings <p>Utah's political parties will hold neighborhood caucus meetings this week. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Sun, 16 Mar 2014 19:32:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 11064 at http://kpcw.org Parties Are To Hold Neighborhood Caucus Meetings Utah Republicans Abandons Bids For Convention http://kpcw.org/post/utah-republicans-abandons-bids-convention <p>The Utah GOP abandons its bid to host the 2016 Republican Convention. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:09:37 +0000 Rick Brough 8036 at http://kpcw.org Utah Republicans Abandons Bids For Convention Henry Glasheen Runs For State GOP Party Chairman http://kpcw.org/post/henry-glasheen-runs-state-gop-party-chairman <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><em>Originally aired on April 10, 2013.</em></p><p>Summit County Republicans will meet at their county convention tomorrow night where they will elect their new officers now that current party chairman Henry Glasheen has announced he’ll be running for that position on the state level.&nbsp; KPCW’s Leslie Thatcher reports.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 03:33:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 1505 at http://kpcw.org Henry Glasheen Runs For State GOP Party Chairman