fire http://kpcw.org en Wildfire Spurs Up To 200 Evacuations In Utah Park http://kpcw.org/post/wildfire-spurs-200-evacuations-utah-park <p>VERNAL, Utah (AP) - Authorities say a nearly 4-square-mile wildfire has led to evacuations in northeast Utah's Steinaker State Park.</p><p>Park Manager Mike Murray said Saturday evening that the blaze had been threatening park structures and areas, including the office, shop and long-term campground.</p><p>He estimates 30 ft flames had come up to the shop, but multiple fire agencies held off the blaze, and it was no longer putting those buildings at risk.</p> Sun, 06 Jul 2014 05:28:00 +0000 KPCW 15650 at http://kpcw.org Callahan Talks About This Summer's Fire Season http://kpcw.org/post/callahan-talks-about-summers-fire-season <p>There are signs that the Rockport area struck by last summer's fire is recovering well. In the meantime, though, another summer is starting, and we're dealing with what Summit County Emergency manager Kevin calls, our biggest annual hazard. Rick&nbsp;Brough has more.</p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 19:06:00 +0000 Rick Brough 14579 at http://kpcw.org Callahan Talks About This Summer's Fire Season Council Figures Out Fire Costs For This Upcoming Summer http://kpcw.org/post/council-figures-out-fire-costs-upcoming-summer <p>With the fire season coming on, an idea being explored by state government could have a major impact on counties and cities. The Summit County Council heard Wednesday that the state might take on all the costs on fire fighting. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 15 May 2014 22:44:05 +0000 Rick Brough 13547 at http://kpcw.org Council Figures Out Fire Costs For This Upcoming Summer Volunteers Sought For Tree Project http://kpcw.org/post/volunteers-sought-tree-project <p>Local volunteers are invited to help local forester Jason Barto and some elite firefighters with a tree maintenance project in South Summit Friday. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 15:50:40 +0000 Rick Brough 12389 at http://kpcw.org No. Summit Fire Department Contains House Fire In Tollgate http://kpcw.org/post/no-summit-fire-department-contains-house-fire-tollgate <p>Crews from the North Summit Fire District responded to a structure fire in Tollgate Canyon Tuesday afternoon. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 17:00:37 +0000 Rick Brough 11141 at http://kpcw.org No. Summit Fire Department Contains House Fire In Tollgate Avoid Fires During Christmastime http://kpcw.org/post/avoid-fires-during-christmastime <p>Christmas celebrations are in full swing, but the Park City Fire District is advising you to be careful, so the merriment isn't interrupted by a major blaze. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 17:52:35 +0000 Rick Brough 7996 at http://kpcw.org Avoid Fires During Christmastime Wildfires and Flash Floods http://kpcw.org/post/wildfires-and-flash-floods <p>The weather-watchers at the National Weather&nbsp;Service are guarding against the hazards that come after the fires are put out---that is, flash floods or debris slides when heavy rainfall hits the slopes denuded by fire. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 18:51:32 +0000 Rick Brough 3544 at http://kpcw.org Dennis Earl Takes On US Forest Service http://kpcw.org/post/dennis-earl-takes-us-forest-service <p><em>Originally aired July 29, 2013. &nbsp;</em></p><p>A Summit County rancher is seeking compensation for a US Forest service controlled burn went awry and torched his grazing lands. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 23:53:46 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 2379 at http://kpcw.org Dennis Earl Takes On US Forest Service