Olympics http://kpcw.org en City Council Tackle Celebrations And General Plan On Agenda http://kpcw.org/post/city-council-tackle-celebrations-and-general-plan-agenda <p>In its formal meeting Thursday at 6 p.m. at the Marsac Building, the Park City Council has a mixed bag of items, from an Olympic celebration to the General Plan. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 18:30:51 +0000 Rick Brough 10597 at http://kpcw.org City Council Tackle Celebrations And General Plan On Agenda Kids Inspired By The Olympics http://kpcw.org/post/kids-inspired-olympics <p>The Winter Olympics are over and done, but there's something the Games have left behind. It's inspiration for the aspiring winter athletes of Park City. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 23:50:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 10330 at http://kpcw.org Kids Inspired By The Olympics Park City Gold Virtual Ski-A-Thon http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-gold-virtual-ski-thon <p><span style="font-size: 13px; font-family: arial, sans, sans-serif;">Downhill ski, cross country ski or pick your event where miles or hours can be logged to raise money for the Youth Sports Alliance’s Dare to Dream Scholarship Fund and local winter sports teams. Register for $25 at www.athlete.com/ysa. Compete with local Olympians – Shannon Bahrke and Brett Camerota - to ski the most miles or raise the most money by securing per-mile sponsors between February 7 and March 16, 2014, to win prizes such as a heliskiing trip for two or ‘First Tracks’ for ten at Canyons. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 16:37:25 +0000 intern 9526 at http://kpcw.org Proud Americans http://kpcw.org/post/proud-americans <p></p><p><strong><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In soon to be war-torn Sarajevo, a pair of twins stood proudly for all of America. </span></strong></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hi, this is Tom Kelly and I&#39;ll be right back with the story,&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Behind the Gold.</em></p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 18:33:00 +0000 Tom Kelly 1713 at http://kpcw.org Proud Americans Simple Mistake Turns To Bronze http://kpcw.org/post/simple-mistake-turns-bronze <p></p><p><strong><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It was a simple mistake, just a mathematical error, but it turned into Bronze. </span></strong></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hi, this is Tom Kelly, and I'll be right back with the Olympic story Behind the Gold.</span></p><p></p><p>The modern day Olympic games started in 1896, patterned after the ancient Grecian contests. But it wasn't until 1924 that the Olympic site of Paris chose to do a winter exposition-an event that later became the first Olympic Winter Games in Chamonix. Ski jumping was the Marquee Competition.</p><p></p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 18:33:00 +0000 Tom Kelly 1712 at http://kpcw.org Simple Mistake Turns To Bronze Womens Ski Jumpers To Hold Benefit Party http://kpcw.org/post/womens-ski-jumpers-hold-benefit-party <p>Originally aired July 17, 2013.</p><p>They’re headed for the 2014 Sochi Olympics. So this year’s annual benefit is especially important for U.S. women ski jumpers. The event is set this Thursday for the first-ever Olympic team of female jumpers - who are, in addition, all Park City-bred. Rick Brough has more.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 18:34:00 +0000 Rick Brough 1654 at http://kpcw.org Womens Ski Jumpers To Hold Benefit Party Historic Silver http://kpcw.org/post/historic-silver <p></p><p><strong><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Coaches were stunned at his times as he skied stride after stride to an historic silver medal. </span></strong></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hi, I&#39;m Tom Kelly and I&#39;ll be right back with more of the story on&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Behind the Gold.</em></p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 23:21:00 +0000 Tom Kelly 1711 at http://kpcw.org Historic Silver Golden Boy http://kpcw.org/post/golden-boy <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><strong>They called him The Golden Boy after his improbable gold medal. &nbsp;</strong></p><p>Hi, this is Tom Kelly and I'll be right back with the story,&nbsp;<em>Behind the Gold.</em></p><p>The early 90's were a rebuilding period for the U.S. Ski Team. Despite breakthrough results at the '92 Olympics, the public wasn't convinced. In fact, sports illustrated dubbed the team "Uncle Sam's lead-footed snowplow brigade." But the athletes knew differently, and the public criticism was a motivator for the entire team.</p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 19:55:00 +0000 Tom Kelly 1706 at http://kpcw.org Golden Boy