2014 Sochi Olympics http://kpcw.org en Olympians Walk Down Main Street http://kpcw.org/post/olympians-walk-down-main-street <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Olympians from the </span>Sochi<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Winter Games and </span>Paralympics<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;were honored Saturday with a parade down Main Street. </span>KPCW's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Leslie Thatcher has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:56:18 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 11875 at http://kpcw.org Olympians Walk Down Main Street Olympic Celebration Parades Down Main On Saturday http://kpcw.org/post/olympic-celebration-parades-down-main-saturday <p>Summit County will cheer on nearly two dozen Olympic athletes who participated in the 2014 Winter Games and Paralympic Games this Saturday. KPCW's&nbsp;Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p><strong>Schedule of Events</strong></p><ul><li>1:00 PM - Parade down Main Street</li><li>1:45 PM - Introductions &amp; Presentation</li><li>2:15 PM -&nbsp;Lantis Fireworks</li><li>2:30 - 3:30 PM - Photos and autographs with Olympians and Paralympians at Lower Main</li><li>2:30 - Celebration on Lower Main</li></ul><p></p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 18:28:37 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 11752 at http://kpcw.org Olympic Celebration Parades Down Main On Saturday Olympic Celebration March 29 http://kpcw.org/post/olympic-celebration-march-29 <p>The Youth Sports Alliance has pinned down enough Olympic and Paralympic athletes who will be in town at the same time to put together a community-wide celebration for those who made their country and their city proud in Sochi, Russia. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 23:53:37 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 10643 at http://kpcw.org Olympic Celebration March 29 2014 Socchi Paralympics Takeover Where Olympics Left Off http://kpcw.org/post/2014-socchi-paralympics-takeover-where-olympics-left <p>The glory of the Socchi Olympics is now down in the history books, but the Olympic spirit is ramping back up for the 2014 Paralympic&nbsp;Winter Games. &nbsp;Lynn Ware Peek has more.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 21:01:38 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 10887 at http://kpcw.org 2014 Socchi Paralympics Takeover Where Olympics Left Off No Rest For US Ski And Snowboarders After Socchi http://kpcw.org/post/no-rest-us-ski-and-snowboarders-after-socchi <p>The athletes of the U. S. Ski and Snowboard Association aren't taking much of a break after the Sochi&nbsp;Olympics. &nbsp;Spokesman&nbsp;Tom Kelly had a roundup of the intercontinental action last week. &nbsp;Rick Brough has more.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 18:28:26 +0000 Rick Brough 10908 at http://kpcw.org No Rest For US Ski And Snowboarders After Socchi Kids Inspired By The Olympics http://kpcw.org/post/kids-inspired-olympics <p>The Winter Olympics are over and done, but there's something the Games have left behind. It's inspiration for the aspiring winter athletes of Park City. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 23:50:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 10330 at http://kpcw.org Kids Inspired By The Olympics Steve Holcomb Brings Home Two Bronzes http://kpcw.org/post/steve-holcomb-brings-home-two-bronzes <p>Park City resident and bobsled driver Steven Holcomb will be bringing home two bronze medals for his time in Sochi. KPCW's&nbsp;Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10317 at http://kpcw.org Steve Holcomb Brings Home Two Bronzes Park City Skier Skis First Olympics http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-skier-skis-first-olympics <p>Park City resident and a member of Team Australia Dominic Demschar competed in his first Olympics, turning in a respectable 39th finish out of 109 competitors in the Men's Giant Slalom.&nbsp; KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 18:20:18 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10251 at http://kpcw.org Park City Skier Skis First Olympics Women Ski Jumpers Make History http://kpcw.org/post/women-ski-jumpers-make-history <p>History was made in the 2014 Sochi Olympics when the world's women ski jumpers got to compete on the Olympic stage for the first time.&nbsp; As KPCW's Leslie Thatcher reports, for those who helped make it happen, it was a dream come true.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 18:13:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 10249 at http://kpcw.org Women Ski Jumpers Make History Christie Dilloway's View On The 2014 Sochi Olympics http://kpcw.org/post/christie-dilloways-view-2014-sochi-olympics <p>It's a wrap! As the 2014 Sochi Olympic Winter games end, one Park City resident reflects on her time there and questions what will happen to Sochi's Olympic Venues once the Olympics and Paralympics move on. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 23:38:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 10327 at http://kpcw.org Christie Dilloway's View On The 2014 Sochi Olympics