Summit County Sheriff Department http://kpcw.org en Riegelsperger Sentenced For Sexual Assault http://kpcw.org/post/riegelsperger-sentenced-sexual-assault <p>A long-time Park City resident has been sentenced to fifteen years to life in the Utah State Prison for kidnapping and sexually assaulting his estranged wife. The sentence was handed down Monday, in Third District Court, to 59-year-old Donald Raymond Riegelsperger. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:23:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16472 at http://kpcw.org Jeffs In Trouble For Refusal Of Cooperation http://kpcw.org/post/jeffs-trouble-refusal-cooperation <p>A police call about a parking problem recently led to a suspect being booked in the County Jail, after he wouldn't give his name to an officer, refused to cooperate, and even had to be held in position for his booking photo.<br />After a week in the county lock-up, the suspect, identified as Rulon P. Jeffs, was released last Wednesday by Summit County's Justice Court. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:44:00 +0000 Rick Brough 15635 at http://kpcw.org Another Death Marks Weber Canyon http://kpcw.org/post/another-death-marks-weber-canyon <p>Summit County Sheriff deputies responded to the report of an Oakley resident who shot himself late Thursday afternoon. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:16:44 +0000 Rick Brough 12400 at http://kpcw.org Another Death Marks Weber Canyon Woman Identified In Suicide Shooting http://kpcw.org/post/woman-identified-suicide-shooting <p>The Summit County Sheriff's Office has identified the woman who was found dead Friday of an apparent self-inflicted gunshot wound at a cabin in Weber Canyon. Rick Brough has more.</p><p>A press statement identified the victim as 43-year-old Jane S.&nbsp;Persinger of Salt Lake City. She was found by officers shortly after 5 PM Friday on the front porch of a cabin with a gunshot wound to the chest.</p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:57:25 +0000 Rick Brough 12221 at http://kpcw.org Weekend Death Looks To Be Suicide http://kpcw.org/post/weekend-death-looks-be-suicide <p>Summit County Sheriff's officers are investigating the shooting death of a woman which took place Friday night in a cabin neighborhood up Weber Canyon. The investigation is still preliminary, but indications are that the case is a suicide. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 19:38:34 +0000 Rick Brough 12208 at http://kpcw.org Summit And SLC Sheriffs Partner To Solve Local Crimes http://kpcw.org/post/summit-and-slc-sheriffs-partner-solve-local-crimes <p>Summit County sheriff deputies have been investigating a rash of auto thefts and burglaries. &nbsp;Working with officers from the Salt Lake Valley, they may have a couple of suspects responsible for the crimes. &nbsp;Rick Brough has more.</p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 21:58:07 +0000 Rick Brough 10896 at http://kpcw.org Burglary Suspects Flee To Kamas http://kpcw.org/post/burglary-suspects-flee-kamas <p>Summit County sheriff officer's searched the Kamas area this Tuesday morning and advised local residents to keep their doors locked, that after burglary suspects in a high-speed chase with Park City police fled to South Summit. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 23:20:00 +0000 Rick Brough 10084 at http://kpcw.org Burglary Suspects Flee To Kamas Highway Mishaps http://kpcw.org/post/highway-mishaps <p>Summit County sheriff deputies have been busy the past week with a variety of incidents and mishaps on the local roadways. Those include a chase from Wasatch County, and the crash of a cattle-hauling vehicle that resulted in the death of several animals. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 23:49:00 +0000 Rick Brough 9292 at http://kpcw.org Highway Mishaps Multi-county Car Chase Ends In Arrests http://kpcw.org/post/multi-county-car-chase-ends-arrests <p>A high-speed chase on Christmas Eve day started in Utah County and finished in Hoytsville, and involved officers from the State Highway Patrol, Summit County deputies and Park City Police. Rick Brough&nbsp;has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 21:52:51 +0000 Rick Brough 8098 at http://kpcw.org Multi-county Car Chase Ends In Arrests Parents Unhappy About How Summit County Sheriff's Office Treated Kids After Arrest http://kpcw.org/post/parents-unhappy-about-how-summit-county-sheriffs-office-treated-kids-after-arrest <p>At least two parents are unhappy with how the Summit County sheriff's office treated their kids after they were arrested for underage drinking at a Winter School graduation party. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher reports.</p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 23:18:51 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 7539 at http://kpcw.org Parents Unhappy About How Summit County Sheriff's Office Treated Kids After Arrest