same-sex http://kpcw.org en Couple Wants Equal Rights To Their Child http://kpcw.org/post/couple-wants-equal-rights-their-child <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two Park City residents are calling on the state to spend tax dollars on worthy causes, like fighting poverty and mental illness, rather than what they say is spending money to further cement inequality in the fight to uphold the state's ban on gay marriage. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 03:44:28 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 12278 at http://kpcw.org Couple Wants Equal Rights To Their Child Utah's AG Speaks For Ban On Same-sex Marriage http://kpcw.org/post/utahs-ag-speaks-ban-same-sex-marriage <p>Utah Attorney General Sean Reyes spoke at a rally Friday in Salt Lake in favor of the same-sex marriage ban. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:38:44 +0000 Associated Press 12162 at http://kpcw.org Federal Judges Split On Same-sex Marriage Ruling http://kpcw.org/post/federal-judges-split-same-sex-marriage-ruling <p>One day into the hearing on District Robert Shelby's ruling declaring Utah's same-sex marriage ban unconstitutional, judges on a Federal appeals court are divided and a ruling is not expected for several months. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:32:09 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 12161 at http://kpcw.org Utah Defends Same-Sex Marriage Ban http://kpcw.org/post/utah-defends-same-sex-marriage-ban <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A group of Utah attorneys have filed a brief defending the ban on same-sex marriage. </span>KPCW's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Lynn Ware Peek has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 23:48:05 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 11065 at http://kpcw.org Utah Defends Same-Sex Marriage Ban Jones On Supreme's Opinion On Same Sex Marriage http://kpcw.org/post/jones-supremes-opinion-same-sex-marriage <p>As of the end of last week, the Summit County Clerk's office had issued some 41 licenses for same-sex marriage. Now, clerk Kent Jones said they had halted that, given the stay issued by the Supreme Court on the ruling from U.S. District Court Judge Robert Shelby. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 22:50:23 +0000 Rick Brough 8404 at http://kpcw.org Jones On Supreme's Opinion On Same Sex Marriage 40 Licenses Issued For Same-sex Couples http://kpcw.org/post/40-licenses-issued-same-sex-couples <p>At this point, the Summit County Clerk's office has issued about 40 marriage licenses for same-sex couples. Clerk Kent Jones said his policy at this point will be to follow the law. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 00:51:00 +0000 Rick Brough 8376 at http://kpcw.org 40 Licenses Issued For Same-sex Couples First Gay Marriage in Summit County Officiated By Park City Mayor http://kpcw.org/post/first-gay-marriage-summit-county-officiated-park-city-mayor <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Shortly after 8 AM this morning, the first gay wedding ceremony in Summit County took place in county council chambers officiated by Park City Mayor Dana Williams. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</span></p><p></p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 00:16:02 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 7970 at http://kpcw.org First Gay Marriage in Summit County Officiated By Park City Mayor Outgoing Mayor's Last Wish Becomes Moot - To His Delight http://kpcw.org/post/outgoing-mayors-last-wish-becomes-moot-his-delight <p>Park City Mayor Dana Williams has now performed some 25 same-sex marriages at the Summit&nbsp;County Courthouse, as the ruling that declares Utah's ban on gay marriage is declared unconstitutional. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 17:27:48 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 7990 at http://kpcw.org Outgoing Mayor's Last Wish Becomes Moot - To His Delight Same-sex Marriage Comes To Summit County http://kpcw.org/post/same-sex-marriage-comes-summit-county <p><strong>UPDATE: Monday 12/23/2013, 12:35 PM</strong></p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:53:49 +0000 KPCW 7952 at http://kpcw.org Same-sex Marriage Comes To Summit County