marriage equality http://kpcw.org en Couple Wants Equal Rights To Their Child http://kpcw.org/post/couple-wants-equal-rights-their-child <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two Park City residents are calling on the state to spend tax dollars on worthy causes, like fighting poverty and mental illness, rather than what they say is spending money to further cement inequality in the fight to uphold the state's ban on gay marriage. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 03:44:28 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 12278 at http://kpcw.org Couple Wants Equal Rights To Their Child Utah's AG Speaks For Ban On Same-sex Marriage http://kpcw.org/post/utahs-ag-speaks-ban-same-sex-marriage <p>Utah Attorney General Sean Reyes spoke at a rally Friday in Salt Lake in favor of the same-sex marriage ban. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:38:44 +0000 Associated Press 12162 at http://kpcw.org Federal Judges Split On Same-sex Marriage Ruling http://kpcw.org/post/federal-judges-split-same-sex-marriage-ruling <p>One day into the hearing on District Robert Shelby's ruling declaring Utah's same-sex marriage ban unconstitutional, judges on a Federal appeals court are divided and a ruling is not expected for several months. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:32:09 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 12161 at http://kpcw.org Utah Defends Same-Sex Marriage Ban http://kpcw.org/post/utah-defends-same-sex-marriage-ban <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A group of Utah attorneys have filed a brief defending the ban on same-sex marriage. </span>KPCW's<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Lynn Ware Peek has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 23:48:05 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 11065 at http://kpcw.org Utah Defends Same-Sex Marriage Ban 40 Licenses Issued For Same-sex Couples http://kpcw.org/post/40-licenses-issued-same-sex-couples <p>At this point, the Summit County Clerk's office has issued about 40 marriage licenses for same-sex couples. Clerk Kent Jones said his policy at this point will be to follow the law. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 00:51:00 +0000 Rick Brough 8376 at http://kpcw.org 40 Licenses Issued For Same-sex Couples Same-sex Marriage Becomes Summit County's Biggest News http://kpcw.org/post/same-sex-marriage-becomes-summit-countys-biggest-news <p>The year in Summit County ended with some of the biggest news ever, as County Council Member Claudia McMullin noted. Same-sex marriages in Utah were allowed, after a ruling from a U.S. District Court judge. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 20:17:56 +0000 Rick Brough 8086 at http://kpcw.org Same-sex Marriage Becomes Summit County's Biggest News Couples Come To Summit County To Marry http://kpcw.org/post/couples-come-summit-county-marry <p>As we've reported, nearly three dozen same-sex couples were issued marriage license at the Coalville Courthouse this week. And the partners married by Park City Dana Williams weren't&nbsp;just from Summit&nbsp;County. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 17:59:28 +0000 Rick Brough 8090 at http://kpcw.org Couples Come To Summit County To Marry Martin Weds Grunstrom http://kpcw.org/post/martin-weds-grunstrom <p>Basin resident Patrice Martin says that the past few days have been a pivotal moment in Utah history. And Patrice was a part of it. She and her partner Jamie Grunstrom were the first same-sex couple officially married in Summit County Monday. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Wed, 25 Dec 2013 01:38:04 +0000 Rick Brough 8088 at http://kpcw.org Martin Weds Grunstrom 33 Licenses Issued To Same-sex Couples Monday http://kpcw.org/post/33-licenses-issued-same-sex-couples-monday <p>The Summit County Clerk's office reported late Monday that they had issued 33 licenses for same-sex marriages.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">That came the same day that a federal judge allowed gay marriage in Utah to Continue. Rick </span>Brough<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has more.</span></p><p></p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 16:31:52 +0000 Rick Brough 8037 at http://kpcw.org 33 Licenses Issued To Same-sex Couples Monday First Gay Marriage in Summit County Officiated By Park City Mayor http://kpcw.org/post/first-gay-marriage-summit-county-officiated-park-city-mayor <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Shortly after 8 AM this morning, the first gay wedding ceremony in Summit County took place in county council chambers officiated by Park City Mayor Dana Williams. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</span></p><p></p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 00:16:02 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 7970 at http://kpcw.org First Gay Marriage in Summit County Officiated By Park City Mayor