Alcohol http://kpcw.org en Powell Talks About Alcoholic Beverages For Special Events http://kpcw.org/post/powell-talks-about-alcoholic-beverages-special-events <p>The Utah Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control has come under fire in the media recently as it has scrutinized and impeded permitting for alcoholic beverages for special events. It may be because the agency is left to interpret what the legislature hands down. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 19:43:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 15240 at http://kpcw.org Powell Talks About Alcoholic Beverages For Special Events Study Shows Low Rate Of Alcohol Deaths In Utah http://kpcw.org/post/study-shows-low-rate-alcohol-deaths-utah <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - A new federal study shows Utah had the lowest rate of alcohol-related deaths over a five-year period among eleven states that participated in the report.</p><p>The report was released this week by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It includes data from 2006-2010.</p><p>The finding seem to back the argument made by the Mormon church and many state legislators that Utah's strict liquor laws keep residents safe.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 16 Mar 2014 16:31:00 +0000 KPCW 11066 at http://kpcw.org Utah Restaurants Fare Better On Underage Drinking http://kpcw.org/post/utah-restaurants-fare-better-underage-drinking <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - State officials say Utah restaurants fared much better last year during covert visits by underage drinkers.</p><p>Lt. Troy Marx of the Utah Bureau of Investigation's alcohol enforcement team says restaurants sold to minors of 16% of these visits in 2013. That's down significantly from 29% the year before.</p> Sun, 26 Jan 2014 16:01:00 +0000 KPCW 9189 at http://kpcw.org Utah Restaurants Fare Better On Underage Drinking Kids Say They're Drinking Less, Puffing More http://kpcw.org/post/kids-say-theyre-drinking-less-puffing-more <p>A recent survey of more than 900 Park City School District adolescents suggests that while alcohol consumption is on the decline, marijuana use may be increasing. Lynn Ware Peek has m0re.</p><p></p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 00:51:56 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 9066 at http://kpcw.org Kids Say They're Drinking Less, Puffing More Northern Utah Town Lifts Ban On Alcohol Sales http://kpcw.org/post/northern-utah-town-lifts-ban-alcohol-sales <p>A small city in northern Utah has voted to lift its long-standing ban on alcohol sales. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 00:20:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 6274 at http://kpcw.org Drop In Utah Alcohol DUI Deaths In 2012 http://kpcw.org/post/drop-utah-alcohol-dui-deaths-2012 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - &nbsp;A new state report shows the number of deaths in Utah caused by drivers under the influence of alcohol was cut in half in 2012.</p><p>The preliminary report from the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice shows alcohol-related DUI deaths fell from 39-20 last year from the previous year.</p><p>Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council Director Mary Lou Emerson presented the report to lawmakers Wednesday.</p> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 21:19:00 +0000 KPCW 5494 at http://kpcw.org Drop In Utah Alcohol DUI Deaths In 2012