Education http://kpcw.org en Shoemaker Talks More About Wasatch's Photoshop Policy http://kpcw.org/post/shoemaker-talks-more-about-wasatchs-photoshop-policy <p>In May, Wasatch High School made national news when it was reported that the school's yearbook staff had altered student photos without their permission. At this point, the district's superintendent says the issue is still being looked at and he's waiting for a report from the school principal. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 19:19:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 16486 at http://kpcw.org Shoemaker Talks More About Wasatch's Photoshop Policy Interview With Wasatch Superintendent Terry Shoemaker http://kpcw.org/post/interview-wasatch-superintendent-terry-shoemaker <p></p><p>KPCW News Director Leslie Thatcher spoke with Wasatch School District Superintendent Terry Shoemaker on Tuesday&nbsp; about a number of issues, including the budget, new growth and the digital conversion program Here's the interview in its entirety.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 20:18:50 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 16093 at http://kpcw.org Interview With Wasatch Superintendent Terry Shoemaker Wasatch School District Seems To Be Growing In Many Ways http://kpcw.org/post/wasatch-school-district-seems-be-growing-many-ways <p>The Wasatch School district is seeing growth in the district, more tax revenue and hopes to add even more revenue with the sale of the old Wasatch High school campus as the nearly 10 acres get sold off in parcels. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 19:40:41 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 16050 at http://kpcw.org Wasatch School District Seems To Be Growing In Many Ways Utah Woman To Be Chief Of National Teacher's Union http://kpcw.org/post/utah-woman-be-chief-national-teachers-union <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - A Utah woman who began her career as a lunch lady and was later named the 1989 Utah Teacher of the Year has been elected to lead the nation's largest labor union.</p><p>Lily Eskelsen Garcia was elected president of the National Education Association last week. She will begin her term September 1.</p><p>Outgoing president Dennis Van Roeke&nbsp;predicted Eskelsen Garcia will be the most dynamic spokesperson the NEA has ever had, and will continue to push equity and social justice.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 17:26:00 +0000 KPCW 15762 at http://kpcw.org Utah Woman To Be Chief Of National Teacher's Union PCSD Seeks Builder For New Building http://kpcw.org/post/pcsd-seeks-builder-new-building <p>Park City School District is seeking a builder for the controversial $5,000,000 building - although exact uses for the building are still percolating. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:26:11 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 15156 at http://kpcw.org PCSD Seeks Builder For New Building Ehlers Plans To Run For The District 4 Seat http://kpcw.org/post/ehlers-plans-run-district-4-seat <p>While there is a race between four candidates for the District 5 seat on the Park City school board, JJ Ehlers is the only one on the ballot for District 4 on November's ballot. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 21:56:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 15103 at http://kpcw.org Ehlers Plans To Run For The District 4 Seat Hickey Discusses Park City School District's Budget http://kpcw.org/post/hickey-discusses-park-city-school-districts-budget <p>With little distraction, the Park City School Board approved a tentative budget Tuesday that calls for $3,000,000 tax increase, but the school board president says taxpayers will still be paying less for education than they were a few years ago. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 15106 at http://kpcw.org Hickey Discusses Park City School District's Budget Payne Plans To Square Off The Candidates At Tuesday's Elections http://kpcw.org/post/payne-plans-square-candidates-tuesdays-elections <p>Doug Payne is one of four candidates for the District 5 seat on the Park City School Board. He'll square off against the others at Tuesday's primary elections. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 19:13:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 14994 at http://kpcw.org Payne Plans To Square Off The Candidates At Tuesday's Elections Lowsma Discusses Campaign For Park City School Board http://kpcw.org/post/lowsma-discusses-campaign-park-city-school-board <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The June </span>24th<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Primary election will bring four Park City school board candidates for the district 5 seat to the voters - narrowing those down to two for the November ballot. One of those candidates is Ed </span>Lowsma<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, a father of five with a strong military background. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</span></p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 19:44:48 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 14841 at http://kpcw.org Lowsma Discusses Campaign For Park City School Board Eihausen Talks Campaign For Board Of Education Seat http://kpcw.org/post/eihausen-talks-campaign-board-education-seat <p>Park City Board of Education candidate Julie Eihausen will square off against three others for the district five school board seat in the June 24th&nbsp;primary election. Lynn Ware Peek has more. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 14836 at http://kpcw.org Eihausen Talks Campaign For Board Of Education Seat