democrats http://kpcw.org en Republican And Democrat Caucus Changes http://kpcw.org/post/republican-and-democrat-caucus-changes <p>To all appearances, last weekend's Republican and Democratic state conventions could be the last round for Utah's caucus and convention system as we know it. A bill in the recent legislature altered the process for candidates to get on a primary ballot.</p><p>But Summit County's Democratic and GOP party chairs think the caucus system might still be basically unchanged. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 23:02:00 +0000 Rick Brough 12934 at http://kpcw.org Republican And Democrat Caucus Changes Two Candidates Move Forward To Seek County Auditor Position http://kpcw.org/post/two-candidates-move-forward-seek-county-auditor-position <p>Summit County's Democratic delegates gathered Saturday afternoon and voted on the local contest within their party. They decided that two candidates for County Auditor, Alex Butwinski and Michael Howard, will go on to a primary in late June. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 16:47:45 +0000 Rick Brough 11619 at http://kpcw.org Two Candidates Move Forward To Seek County Auditor Position Worthen Becomes Brown's Sole Dem Opponent http://kpcw.org/post/worthen-becomes-browns-sole-dem-opponent <p>Incumbent GOP Representative Mel Brown only has one Democratic challenger in his re-election bid for House District 53. That is Morgan County resident Ray Worthen. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Sat, 29 Mar 2014 02:16:01 +0000 Rick Brough 11638 at http://kpcw.org Worthen Becomes Brown's Sole Dem Opponent Parties Are To Hold Neighborhood Caucus Meetings http://kpcw.org/post/parties-are-hold-neighborhood-caucus-meetings <p>Utah's political parties will hold neighborhood caucus meetings this week. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Sun, 16 Mar 2014 19:32:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 11064 at http://kpcw.org Parties Are To Hold Neighborhood Caucus Meetings Howard Dean Says Democrats Aren't Forgotten In Utah http://kpcw.org/post/howard-dean-says-democrats-arent-forgotten-utah <p>Former presidential candidate and Democratic National Committee Chairman Howard Dean is in Utah this week to kick off a statewide voter registration campaign. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 15:12:07 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 3169 at http://kpcw.org Howard Dean Says Democrats Aren't Forgotten In Utah Summit County Democrats To Choose Interim Recorder http://kpcw.org/post/summit-county-democrats-choose-interim-recorder <p><em>Originally aired May 9, 2013.</em></p><p>After 30 years, Summit County recorder Alan Springs will be retiring this week.&nbsp; Two candidates have expressed in an interest in the job… An interim replacement will be determined by the county’s democratic delegates.&nbsp; KPCW’s Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 16:18:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 1478 at http://kpcw.org Summit County Democrats To Choose Interim Recorder Summit County Democrats To Hold Convention http://kpcw.org/post/summit-county-democrats-hold-convention <p><em>Originally aired on April 12, 2013.</em></p><p>It’s that time of year that the Summit County political parties host their conventions and the County Democrats will hold theirs Saturday at the Park City Community Church at 4pm. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 03:45:00 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 1503 at http://kpcw.org Summit County Democrats To Hold Convention