Utah http://kpcw.org en Duffin Builds State-wide Trails Non-profit http://kpcw.org/post/duffin-builds-state-wide-trails-non-profit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A new non-profit group with experienced leadership at its helm has opened its doors. The new Trails Utah will help other communities promote trails and trail usage and will follow the Park City model. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 02 May 2014 00:14:34 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 12958 at http://kpcw.org Duffin Builds State-wide Trails Non-profit Utah's AG Speaks For Ban On Same-sex Marriage http://kpcw.org/post/utahs-ag-speaks-ban-same-sex-marriage <p>Utah Attorney General Sean Reyes spoke at a rally Friday in Salt Lake in favor of the same-sex marriage ban. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:38:44 +0000 Associated Press 12162 at http://kpcw.org Federal Judges Split On Same-sex Marriage Ruling http://kpcw.org/post/federal-judges-split-same-sex-marriage-ruling <p>One day into the hearing on District Robert Shelby's ruling declaring Utah's same-sex marriage ban unconstitutional, judges on a Federal appeals court are divided and a ruling is not expected for several months. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 16:32:09 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 12161 at http://kpcw.org Outgoing Mayor's Last Wish Becomes Moot - To His Delight http://kpcw.org/post/outgoing-mayors-last-wish-becomes-moot-his-delight <p>Park City Mayor Dana Williams has now performed some 25 same-sex marriages at the Summit&nbsp;County Courthouse, as the ruling that declares Utah's ban on gay marriage is declared unconstitutional. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 17:27:48 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 7990 at http://kpcw.org Outgoing Mayor's Last Wish Becomes Moot - To His Delight Same-sex Marriage Comes To Summit County http://kpcw.org/post/same-sex-marriage-comes-summit-county <p><strong>UPDATE: Monday 12/23/2013, 12:35 PM</strong></p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:53:49 +0000 KPCW 7952 at http://kpcw.org Same-sex Marriage Comes To Summit County Governor Herbert Honors Robert Redford http://kpcw.org/post/governor-herbert-honors-robert-redford <p>Film actor, director and founder of the Sundance Institute Robert Redford was honored by the state of Utah Saturday, with November 9th being proclaimed as Robert Redford Day in Utah.&nbsp; KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 21:31:40 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 6429 at http://kpcw.org Governor Herbert Honors Robert Redford Shutdown Of The National Parks In Utah http://kpcw.org/post/shutdown-national-parks-utah <p>SALT LAKE CITY - Utah&#39;s five national parks were bustling with visitors over the weekend as parks re-opened at least for now. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 00:33:48 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 5350 at http://kpcw.org Shutdown Of The National Parks In Utah Tourism Means Big Bucks http://kpcw.org/post/tourism-means-big-bucks <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Tourism is big business in Utah and Summit County makes a big contribution to that. </span>KPCW&#39;s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Leslie Thatcher has more.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 23:51:34 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 4805 at http://kpcw.org Tourism Means Big Bucks Utah Schools To Receive Letter Grades http://kpcw.org/post/utah-schools-receive-letter-grades <p>Just like school kids receive an A, B, or C, in a new statewide scoring program, so too will the schools be given a letter grade. Lynn Ware Peek has more.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 17:30:56 +0000 Lynn Ware Peek 3270 at http://kpcw.org Utah Schools To Receive Letter Grades