Local News Hour http://kpcw.org en Henney Talks About Council's Decision On Vinyl Siding http://kpcw.org/post/henney-talks-about-councils-decision-vinyl-siding <p>The consensus of Park City Council Thursday night was, to say the least, not supportive on vinyl siding, says Council Member Tim Henney.<br />Henney&nbsp;told KPCW Friday that no housing material is problem-free, but vinyl is, on the spectrum, one of the worst choices. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:44:19 +0000 Rick Brough 16211 at http://kpcw.org Henney Talks About Council's Decision On Vinyl Siding Soldier Hollow Hires New Director http://kpcw.org/post/soldier-hollow-hires-new-director <p>The Soldier Hollow Legacy Foundation has a new director, Richard Hodges, who left his position on the Foundation's Board to take the new job. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 18:38:57 +0000 Rick Brough 16210 at http://kpcw.org Soldier Hollow Hires New Director Park City Balloon Festival Set For September http://kpcw.org/post/park-city-balloon-festival-set-september <p>After a hiatus of 20 years, the Park City balloon festival known as Autumn Aloft is returning with plans set for September 19th to the 21st. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 17:54:12 +0000 Rick Brough 16203 at http://kpcw.org Park City Balloon Festival Set For September Gale Dick, Co-Founder Of Save Our Canyons, Dies http://kpcw.org/post/gale-dick-co-founder-save-our-canyons-dies <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - Gale Dick, a former University of Utah physics professor and co-founder of the Utah environmental group Save Our Canyons, has died at the age of 88.</p><p>Tim Dick told The Sale Lake Tribune that his father died Friday at a Salt Lake City hospital of natural causes.</p><p>The Rhodes scholar's love of the Wasatch Mountains prompted him to co-found Save Our Canyons in 1972 and to work to protect wilderness.</p><p>Salt Lake County Mayor Ben McAdams says he considered Dick to be an important adviser on environmental issues affecting Wasatch canyons.</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 02:21:00 +0000 Salt Lake Tribune 16212 at http://kpcw.org Gale Dick, Co-Founder Of Save Our Canyons, Dies Utah Gears Up For New Efforts To Clean Air http://kpcw.org/post/utah-gears-new-efforts-clean-air <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - A Utah legislator is bringing back a failed measure at clearing soot from Utah skies.</p><p>North Salt Lake Republican Becky Edwards proposes that Utah allow its own regulators to set rules stricter than their federal counterparts.</p><p>She says Utah's mountains, weather, and other factors combine in winter to create an air pollution problem unique to the state.</p><p>Edwards told a legislative panel Wednesday the state should be free to seek its own solutions to the singular problem.</p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 13:11:00 +0000 KPCW 16215 at http://kpcw.org Shooting Deaths Of 4 Horses In Utah Prompt Outrage http://kpcw.org/post/shooting-deaths-4-horses-utah-prompt-outrage <p>SYRACUSE, Utah (AP) - The shooting deaths of four thoroughbred horses in Utah are prompting outrage and a $5,000 reward for the prosecution of those responsible.</p><p>Richard Sanders says he returned home from a trip Tuesday to learn the horses were killed in their corral in Syracuse, 25 miles north of Salt Lake City.</p><p>He tells Ogden's Standard Examiner the horses he loved and cared for over the last decade were shot sometime between July 12 and Tuesday night.</p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 00:29:00 +0000 KPCW 16216 at http://kpcw.org 2 Ag-Gag Laws Facing Federal Court Challenges http://kpcw.org/post/2-ag-gag-laws-facing-federal-court-challenges <p>DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - The yearslong fight over laws prohibiting secretly filmed documentation of animal abuse is moving from state legislatures to federal courts as laws in Utah and Idaho face constitutional challenges.</p><p>Half of U.S. states have attempted to pass so-called ag-gag laws, but only seven have been successful.</p><p>Animal rights groups, free speech activists and others have filed two separate, but similar lawsuits against ag-gag measures in two Western states.</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 18:40:00 +0000 David Pitt 16214 at http://kpcw.org Group Asks Forest Service To Halt Snowbird Project http://kpcw.org/post/group-asks-forest-service-halt-snowbird-project <p>SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - An environmental group is asking the U.S. Forest Service to delay Snowbird Ski Resort's construction of a restaurant atop the 11,000-foot Hidden Peak.</p><p>The group Save Our Canyons says Snowbird has made significant changes to the plan since the Forest Service approved the project in 1999 and a new study is needed to review the possible environmental impacts.</p><p>The Forest Service says it's considering the request.</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 12:01:00 +0000 Salt Lake Tribune 16213 at http://kpcw.org Real Estate Prices Going Up Around Park City http://kpcw.org/post/real-estate-prices-going-around-park-city <p>While the number of real estate sales slowed down in the second quarter, prices continue to rise. KPCW's Leslie Thatcher has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 19:35:00 +0000 Leslie Thatcher 16209 at http://kpcw.org Real Estate Prices Going Up Around Park City Carson Talks About Laws And Changes In The County's Future http://kpcw.org/post/carson-talks-about-laws-and-changes-countys-future <p>As we reported, the Summit County Council this week has a wide-ranging discussion about their Animal Control ordinances and regulations. And talking later to Council member Kim Carson, we asked her what changes the county will make this summer - and what will wait till budget time, when the Council will consider spending more money and hiring additional staff for the county dogcatcher. Rick Brough has more.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 18:42:00 +0000 Rick Brough 16202 at http://kpcw.org Carson Talks About Laws And Changes In The County's Future