Joel Rose http://kpcw.org en N.Y. Man's Death Prompts Police Introspection On Use Of Force http://kpcw.org/post/ny-mans-death-prompts-police-introspection-use-force Funeral services are being held for Eric Garner, a New York City man who died in police custody last week in Staten Island. A video of the incident shows one officer using an apparent chokehold on Garner before he died. The incident is prompting the New York Police Department to rethink how it trains all its officers in the use of force. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Joel Rose 16316 at http://kpcw.org Brooklyn DA Shifts Stance On Pot, But That Won't Impact NYPD http://kpcw.org/post/brooklyn-da-shifts-stance-pot-wont-impact-nypd Marijuana enthusiasts should still think twice before lighting up in the streets of Brooklyn.<p>The borough's district attorney announced this week that he'll no longer prosecute most low-level marijuana possession cases. But not all law enforcement officials in New York City are on board. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 13:25:00 +0000 Joel Rose 15893 at http://kpcw.org Brooklyn DA Shifts Stance On Pot, But That Won't Impact NYPD A New Jersey Law That's Kept Smart Guns Off Shelves Nationwide http://kpcw.org/post/new-jersey-law-thats-kept-smart-guns-shelves-nationwide A gun that fires only in the hands of its owner isn't science fiction anymore. A so-called smart gun is already on sale in Europe. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Joel Rose 15159 at http://kpcw.org A New Jersey Law That's Kept Smart Guns Off Shelves Nationwide Move Over, Bridgegate: Chris Christie's Next Campaign Roadblock http://kpcw.org/post/move-over-bridgegate-chris-christies-next-campaign-roadblock The U.S. economy reached a milestone this week: The country finally recovered all the jobs it lost during the Great Recession. But some states still lag behind when it comes to job creation — including New Jersey.<p>The Garden State's stalled economy may be an even bigger problem for Gov. Chris Christie than the scandal over lane closures at the George Washington Bridge.<p>When Christie took office in 2010, the state had just lost more than 100,000 jobs. Christie was undaunted. Sat, 07 Jun 2014 16:02:00 +0000 Joel Rose 14449 at http://kpcw.org Move Over, Bridgegate: Chris Christie's Next Campaign Roadblock Why Is It So Hard For A Horse To Win The Triple Crown? http://kpcw.org/post/why-it-so-hard-horse-win-triple-crown Only one more race stands between California Chrome and horse racing's Triple Crown, but it could be his toughest challenge yet.<p>Since 1978, a dozen horses — Sunday Silence, War Emblem and Smarty Jones among them — have won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness, only to stumble before the finish line at the Belmont Stakes.<p>No one can say exactly why there's been a 36-year drought since the last Triple Crown winner, but there are several theories.<p><strong>An Endurance Test</strong><p>The first thing you notice about Belmont Park is that it's big. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 22:22:00 +0000 Joel Rose 14270 at http://kpcw.org Why Is It So Hard For A Horse To Win The Triple Crown? On The Bedrock Of Fallen Towers, September 11 Museum Opens Doors http://kpcw.org/post/bedrock-fallen-towers-september-ii-museum-opens-doors The National September 11 Memorial and Museum was officially dedicated Thursday in New York. President Obama and other elected officials joined survivors and victims' families in a poignant ceremony. Thu, 15 May 2014 20:40:00 +0000 Joel Rose 13533 at http://kpcw.org New York Rep. Michael Grimm Indicted On 20 Counts http://kpcw.org/post/new-york-rep-michael-grimm-indicted-20-counts Rep. Michael Grimm of New York turned himself in to face federal charges related to a health food restaurant he ran before he was elected to Congress. The Republican congressman says he's innocent and plans to run for re-election this fall, but Democrats have have high hopes of flipping the last GOP-held seat in New York City. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Joel Rose 12746 at http://kpcw.org Columbia Comes Under Fire For Handling Of Sexual Assault Cases http://kpcw.org/post/columbia-comes-under-fire-handling-sexual-assault-cases Twenty-three students from Columbia and Barnard say that the university is mishandling allegations of sexual assault. They filed federal complaints with the Department of Education on Thursday. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 20:22:00 +0000 Joel Rose 12654 at http://kpcw.org Al Sharpton, FBI Informant? New Claims Revive '80s Mob Story http://kpcw.org/post/al-sharpton-fbi-informant-new-claims-revive-80s-mob-story Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Reverend Al Sharpton has admitted to working with the FBI and recording conversations with alleged mobsters. The website The Smoking Gun published documents detailing Sharpton's involvement, saying he's the guy referred to in the document as Confidential Informant 7. This was back in the 1980s during some of the bureau's biggest mafia investigations.<p>As NPR's Joe Rose reports, Sharpton denies any wrongdoing.<p>JOEL ROSE, BYLINE: Today, Al Sharpton is a host on MSNBC, an establishment figure who rubs elbows with the president and attorney general. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:14:00 +0000 Joel Rose 11919 at http://kpcw.org Internal Report Clears Christie Of Bridgegate, But Dems Don't Buy It http://kpcw.org/post/internal-report-clears-christie-bridgegate-dems-dont-buy-it Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>We now have the results of an internal investigation into the George Washington Bridge lane closure scandal. Today's report was commissioned by the administration of New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, and it finds the governor did nothing wrong. It won't be the last word. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Joel Rose 11463 at http://kpcw.org